Homemade Wine Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2012
This recipe is great if you're ok with Carlos Rossi grade wine. The first question I had when I saw the recipe was, "how sweet is it?" Because I prefer dry over sweet, I cut the sugar down to less than 2 cups. MISTAKE. It tasted alcoholic (great) but unpalatable (not so great). After fermentation, I added sugar to taste, and it's fine now. My process was such: Sanitize all equipment with hot water and dish soap, rinsing thoroughly. I used a ballon, active dry yeast, and welches grape concentrate. I let the yest sit in warm water to dissolve, and put the sugar in warm water to make a syrup. I mixed all ingredients togetherm sealed it with a balloon, gave it a few holes to let the gasses escape, and after 5 days, the balloon deflated. I filtered it with a funnel and coffee filters once and now I have a Carlos Rassi tasting sweet wine, which is chilling in my fridge. Like i said, this is ok if you like cheap, sweet wines that will get you drunk fast. I'll make more and experiment with white grape. I want something that will be less sweet but still palatable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2012
Easy to assemble. I did dissolve the sugar in water ans poked a few holes in the balloon. I made two gallons. One red and one white. Can't wait to see how it turns out. Follow the good advice on here.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2012
i found this recipe and another that seemed good and made them both..this recipe made some God-awful tasting wine, but it did have a kick too it and made this monk blissfully drunk....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Drunk Monk

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2012
Good recipe for a good, quick wine. Just bottled up an apple wine that I let ferment for about 5 weeks. I went with a bubbler method and did a couple of rackings (filterings) before bottling and it came out well. Did not do a before/after hydrometer so I don't know the alcohol content but it tasted pretty strong. Now, I'm no vintner so I bottled it like I usually do...in a Mason Jar. Cheers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chefbethhope

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2012
I'm giving this five stars based on its simplicity and affordability. I've done both fruit and concentrate wines (made this twice now) and when I'm lacking the additives and/or fruit (and don't particularly feel like spending a bundle) this is the way to go. Listen to the reviews though: DO use wine yeast, DO put a tiny pinprick in the balloon (or condom, whichever you prefer), and DO make sure to siphon the wine and filter if you want to waste the least amount possible :) Great recipe, thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Divinity68

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2012
For such a simple recipe, I am wonderfully impressed with the results! I will be making this again, for sure! I used frozen apple cider. I also used only 3 cups of sugar, dissolved in boiled water. It's still quite sweet, and it's quite strong...somewhat like a dessert wine, not quite as sweet. I did wait the six weeks, and it was worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rebeccahelen

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Miller, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2011
good basic wine recipe except for the amount of sugar. It is excessive. I would use a maximum of 3 cups in the future for better results
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by stevenlb
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2011
I used this recipe and ordered a professional grade cork and airlock from midwest supplies ($1.85+SH). After fermentation, the resulting liquid was very strong with a yeasty aftertaste. I mixed the wine with one can of like Welches white grape juice concentrate and it was more than drinkable. Very high alcohol content!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stevenlb

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Memphis, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2011
The recipe is excellent! the calculator for different quantities does not work properly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2011
Helpful maybe?, I am not an expert and it has been some time since I did this: Wash the balloon. When the balloon deflates the wine has stopped working and added time may screw the flavor and maybe turn to vinegar, earlier may taste yeasty. [actually the higher alcohol content kills the fungus making the alcohol, no longer giving off gas and the balloon goes down] Most rubber balloons have very small holes and will deflate over a short time, good ones may take a long time, so pricking small holes resolves this or your wine will sit too a long time with a big balloon and not working, but spoiling. You just need to know when it stops working, that is the purpose of the balloon idea. Timing is quite important, and sealing it in another clean bottle or refrigerating it after it is ready keeps it longer. If you do not clean and sterilize your jug you may get contaminates that may give it a bad flavor or affect the working process.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 95) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Hot Spiced Christmas Wine

Treat your winter guests to a hot cup of holiday cheer.

How to Chill Wine Fast

See how to chill a warm bottle of white wine in just minutes.

Wine Basics

Tune in for a quick review of white and red wines from around the world.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States