Homemade Wine Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2014
First time I tried this recipe I didn't know to puncture the balloon. I checked it after a few days and found the ballon had burst. I thought it might spoil, but I washed out another balloon, put it on and put a small hole it. After about 5 weeks I strained it through a coffee filter although it was still slowly working. I sterilized one quart canning jars in a boiling water bath and put the wine in them after they cooled, with rings and lids hand-tight, and then put them in the refrigerator. After 2 weeks in the refrigerator I saw that the jars had clear wine but a layer of sediment was stuck on the bottom of the jars. Upon tasting, it was very good, medium sweet, alcohol content percentage not known, but evident and appropriate. Everyone I gave it to, liked it. The next time, I made two 1 gallon batches, punctured each ballon and took it off after exactly 35 days, processed it the same way, but after 3 weeks of settling in refrigerator, I rebottled in clean sterile 1 quart jars so no sediment was on the bottoms of the jars. I gave most of it away, and everyone was most appreciative. Then I bought bung stoppers with "s" airlocks and a hydrometer. On the next batch I took before fermentation readings for potential alcohol, and measured the temperature for correction. Also I dissolved the sugar in water prior to adding yeast. I will take it off in a few more days and check after fermentation readings for alcohol % on it. Next time I may try 2 cans of 100% Welch's juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Harry Bunch

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2014
As a first-timer, I had a really fun, easy experience making this! Of course, it doesn't taste like store-bought wine, but more like a fruity cocktail - still something I would let others try just for fun. As many have done already, I would add the following tips: 1. boil the sugar in with the water beforehand 2. in fact, it's probably a good idea to reduce the amount of sugar 3. poke holes in your balloon to allow air to escape 4. for me, this recipe seems to have taken less than 6 weeks, but I waited 6 weeks anyways.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2014
I just made mine & wished I would have read the comments 1st. Warm your water & dissolve the sugar in the water before u pour it into the jug. If not the sugar goes to the bottom & get rick hard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2014
i tried a similar recipe but it didnt say anything about waiting until the balloon deflates again. it just says after 21 days to bottle it. but there is a residue of some sort above the wine where the empty space is. Do i just remove that?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by flowergirl
Living In: Fayetteville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Dennis Edward Strausser
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2013
Okay, ah. Do some research people. The dead yeast at the bottom... yeah, that collects up no matter if you make one gallon, or a whole barrel of wine. You'll always have to worry about some of that. Now if you place a tap just above the bottom, then you could probably strain all the top stuff out. And then just dump the dead yeast. I just pour it into another container, until it appears like too much of that stuff might get into it, and then dump the little bit left on the bottom. It'll probably get a little better over time, to then place a normal lid on your container. I found sometimes, Apple ferments faster. And will actually get stronger over a shorter period of time. It is almost too sweet, but I like it. It lists leaving it sit for 6 weeks, but it's not bad to drink it after only 4. You want to ferment it for 4 to 6 weeks, and then refrigerate it if you can. I found it to be an easy recipe, so have fun. A heads up though, it doesn't need to be kept too cool, or you'll stop the fermentation process.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2013
I made this recipe just as it is shown,I used apple/peach and it came out a bit dryer than I like but back sweetened very well. I did not use a balloon, I used a proper air lock and plug that I got for $3.00. I live in a warm climate so it only took 10 days to ferment and stop bubbling through the air lock, I also got some Potassium Sorbate to prevent re-fermentation and added that before I bottled it. I put it in water bottles and from one gallon I got two 1 liter and three 1/2 liter bottles filed with another half of a 1/2 liter bottle left over. That is what I have sampled. It is still cloudy but tastes pretty good and it is very strong. I am going to let it stand for a few weeks and see if it clears up, if not I will add a clairifer in the next batch which I will be starting in the next few days.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2013
This wasn't bad but, if I left a little of the sugar out, would it be more "dry"? Anyone know?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2013
I made this. Let it sit five weeks. Tried it. V I N E G A R!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2013
I made this and followed the recipe exactly using red grape juice concentrate. After about 2 weeks my balloon popped because i used a medium sized instead of a large. I thought it was ruined but i put another balloon on and poked a few holes in it this time and after 3 more weeks i siphoned it into another jug and sampled it and it was not as strong as i had anticipated but was very good and sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2013
forgot the heating it up in a pot part. best to use a piece on cloth not a balloon hell a piece of toilet paper and a rubber band would work tissue something besides a balloon and like all whine the more it ages the stronger it is it kinda never stops working. use some charcoal and a coffee filter to filter it.[charcoal is opptional better taste if used] if u do use a balloon Clean it out and poke 1 or 2 hole in it don't want the latex stuff in the balloon in ur whine
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 89) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Hot Spiced Christmas Wine

Treat your winter guests to a hot cup of holiday cheer.

How to Chill Wine Fast

See how to chill a warm bottle of white wine in just minutes.

Wine Basics

Tune in for a quick review of white and red wines from around the world.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States