Homemade Veggie Pizza Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2014
This has become my go-to recipe for pizza dough and sauce. I always mix up the veggies and cheeses, but definitely a keeper for my family. I do like to add a little rosemary into the flour mix. I also take the sugar from the flour mix and put it into my yeast mix. I find it helps it foam up much easier (learned from making bread many times over).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eva

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pleasant Hill, California, USA
Living In: Middleton, Wisconsin, USA
Photo by Molly
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2014
Recipe Group Selection: 1, March 2014 ~ A nice different pizza crust. I made up the dough in the morning in my bread machine. After rising nicely in the fridge all day, we had to leave before I could prepare the pizza. I split the dough into 2 packages and froze them. I put one in the fridge today and let it re-rise all day. It rose again, very nicely. I did prebake the crust at 450° for 5 minutes before adding the toppings. For the sauce, I cut the oregano back to ¾ tablespoon and added 1 tablespoon sugar. We really liked the taste of the sauce with my adjustments. For the toppings we had: a mixture of mozzarella, sharp cheddar and Monterey jack cheese (3 partial pkgs. in the freezer); thin onion slices; red, orange and green pepper rings, cottage cheese, jalapeño rings, and fresh nasturtium leaves. We really enjoyed everything about this pizza. The crust had a nice crispness to it, and I’m wondering if that came from the egg. Good recipe selection this week. Thanks Bird for sharing your recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Photo by Christina
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2014
Made this for Recipe Group...Delicious! I did not use the oregano in the dough, and reduced the amount in the sauce to 1 tsp., per personal preference. The only other thin I think I'd do differently next time is add a bit of sugar to the sauce to reduce the acidity. I made the dough earlier in the day in my bread machine, and par baked my crusts. When it was getting close to dinner, I just had to assemble them, easy peasy! I got 2-12 inch pizzas out of this. The dough crisped up nicely, which we really enjoyed. This is a definite keeper~YUM! Thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by Deb C
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2014
Recipe Group selection for the week of March 1, 2014. - This pizza dough recipe was different than the usual pizza dough recipes I’ve made because of the egg. Also, I’ve never made a pizza dough where you needed to sift the flour. So, I was curious as to how this would turn out. It was a nice dough, but not my favorite. I wouldn’t bother with the sifting, combining in a separate bowl method; just plop the remainder of the dough ingredients into the proofed yeast and process it as you would any regular pizza dough. I didn’t bother with making the sauce because I had leftover tomato sauce which I used. This pizza was an excellent way to use up leftover vegetables.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peabody, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2014
i made my usual crust but i added black olives. used some australian cheddar and mmmm mmmm. so good. naturally i kept my mozzarella. i just added half and half. anymew it was great. me and my fiance have been experimenting with different veggies. we decided to cut alot of the meat out of our diets. ty for the great pizza idea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Adrinna Mace

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Quinton, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2014
This is a great recipe! I added scallions, broccoli, and cauliflower to the veggies. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Baking Nana
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2012
I was impressed with this crust - a little different than the pizza crust I usually make. I pureed the sauce with an immersion blender. There was more sauce than I needed for the pizzas but we don't like a lot of sauce. I topped the pizzas with olives, red onions, green onions, mushrooms and fresh pineapple. Very nice indeed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baking Nana

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Corona, California, USA


 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Related Videos

How to Make Homemade Pizza Sauce

See Chef John’s secret formula for making pizza sauce.

Homemade Black Bean Veggie Burgers

These 5-star veggie burgers have it all over frozen burgers.

How to Make Homemade Pizza Dough

See how to make amazing pizza dough from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States