Homemade Vegetable Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2009
Very good recipe, this has to be healthy. I made this last night and went by the recipe and it was great, probably the best vegetable soup I have had. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
80 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2009
This is a great back to basics recipe, which is why I'm giving it a 5-star. It was just what I was looking for. There are so many ways you can expand upon it and still end up with a good tasting, healthy recipe. I changed things up, according to what was in my refrigerator/garden. Added fresh zucchini, tomatoes, garlic, and cilantro. Didn't have green beans or Great Northern beans. Shredded a couple of chicken breasts and tossed them in, just because I'm feeding youngsters who need the protein. Served with grated cheese, rolls, and sour cream. Very satisfying meal. May try ground turkey next time. Thank You!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2009
Great recipe that helped me use up some of those veggies that were accumulating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Evans, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2009
This was my first homemade vegetable soup and it was very good! I didn't have northern beans so I sued a can of red kidney beans I had on hand and Trader Joe's didn't have any cabbage so I used broccoli slaw instead and it worked just fine. I added another can of diced tomatoes and doubled the chicken broth because there wasn't enough liquid. I added gorgonzola cheese crackers from Trader Joe's on top and it was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANJA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alameda, California, USA
Living In: Concord, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lansie
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2009
I love this vegetable soup, but I might have changed it so much it's not quite this recipe. This recipe was the inspiration: I used 2 cans of low salt, low fat chicken stock; 4 c. water; about 6 smallish carrots; 4 stalks of celery, peeled; 2 pinches of dried basil; 2 pinches of dried thyme; a few sprinkles of an onion-based salt-substitute; the liquid from a can of stewed tomatoes; 3-4 cloves garlic, crushed. Boil/simmer this for 30 min. Then added 1 head of cabbage, chopped; the stewed tomatoes; 2 roma tomatoes, quartered; bunch of green beans (1-2 cups?); bunch of crimini mushrooms (1/2 cup?); 1 cut zucchini. Cook for 30 min. more. Add kale, cook for about 10 min. Good soup, or how to get rid of all the veggies in your fridge -- in a good way :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
83 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2009
When I realized that my pot was too small for only just the fresh ingredients, I decided to toss it into my slow cooker. I grated the carrot and minced (by mistake) the celery and decided to toss in some sweet corn. I let it slow-cook for several hours. After about 6 hours I found it a little bitter and panicked! I randomly added: 1 tsp. Olive Oil, 1 tbsp. Balsamic Vinegar, 2 tbsp. Garlic Powder, 1 cup cooked Black Forest Ham, some chopped fresh parsely, a few squirts of lemon juice and 1 tbsp. Oregano. What do you know it worked out and is sooooooo much tastier (to me) than the original recipe. I may have ruined it by accidentally mincing my celery in my new magic bullet. But after 6 hours I figured that's what it would taste like and my boyfriend and I ate up my hodgepodge creation so I thought I'd share it :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2010
We're in the midst of a deep freeze and soup seemed to be the answer to the question "what's for dinner"? This could not have been more appropriate for warming up after shoveling snow and warding off the brrrrrrrr! I followed the recipe as is and made AR's Amish White Bread to go with. My daughter and 3 gr.kids ate with us and she had to have a copy of the recipe before going home when she saw that the children were asking for seconds! This really reminds me of the pot of soup my gramma always seemed to have on the stove when the weather outside became really cold. I will absolutely do this again. Excellent way to get more veggies. Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gail Cobile

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Spotsylvania, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2010
Very good. I needed a little more kick and had to double the listed spices plus add some pepper and garlic. Great way to get veggies without eating yet another salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2010
Great old-fashioned soup. Flavor was great. I added a little creole spice to kick it up and used corn instead of green beans. My kids even liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2010
My family thought this was pretty blah. I made it exactly as written. It needed more flavoring.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Homemade Chicken Noodle Soup

Watch Chef John make a simple, soothing chicken noodle soup.

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Quick and Easy Vegetable Soup

See how to make a healthy, super-simple vegetable soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States