Homemade Vegetable Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2011
Made this last night exact to recipe and it was simply outstanding. Great comfort food for a cold winters day, and very healthy. Nice One !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DARKSACRIFICE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Oshawa, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
Decent but nothing special. It could really be hearty'd up by doubling potatoes or something. Not sure what it needs but it left us flat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2010
Simple to make and tastes great!!! I play around with the spices a bit and use red kidney beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2010
This is an easy recipe to play off of with the veggies you have available. I added zucchini and corn. I also used some soy sauce and worcestershire sauce for flavor. Next time I would definitely add in bay leaf for some depth of flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2010
This was a great base recipe, but I made some alterations: Left out the beans and the cabbage, did 32 oz vegetable stock instead of 28. Added an entire bunch of asparagus, sliced on the diagonal (minus the very bottoms and leaving the very tops in tact), 4 cloves of finely chopped garlic and cooked some cheese tortellini separately and then added in the last 10 minutes before serving. I also added fresh ground pepper and ground sea salt. Topped with fresh Parmesan and texas toast croutons. Very good recipe. It made about 16 cups of soup...will definitely be freezing some! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2010
Delicious and Filling! I added crushed garlic and only half the tomatoes. I did'nt have the beans, but I put ground turkey and broccoli 30 mins. into the cooking, which the cooking time was 1 hour.This recipe did'nt need any alterations and the base allows you to be creative. Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2010
This was just the ticket on a rainy Portland day. It's very good as written. I used diced whole carrots rather than baby carrots, and also added 3 large cloves of garlic - this really helped the flavor. I used good quality chicken broth, more than water. Plenty of coarse black pepper as well as salt. I disagree that it makes too much. I'm sure we will go through it quickly (2 person family!) Good on its own, or along with a sandwich for a great lunch - will try adding some chicken one day, as one reviewer described.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2010
Very Bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2010
Great recipe. I substituted extra cabbage and cheese tortellini for the potatoes. Much better this way. Also for better flavor try adding zesty diced tomatoes instead of regular.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2010
Not bad. I loved all the veggies! However, I think if i made it again, I'd have to up the spices or find something else to add, as it seemed a little bland for me. and, it made A LOT! I didn't realize how much it made until i was practically done, and as i didn't have a pot big enough, had to divide it b/t two pans!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anna

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Quick and Easy Vegetable Soup

See how to make a healthy, super-simple vegetable soup.

How to Make Homemade Chicken Noodle Soup

Watch Chef John make a simple, soothing chicken noodle soup.

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States