Homemade Vegetable Juice Cocktail Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2005
This recipe is much better than V8! And much less sodium than V8! I used 2 teaspoons of canning salt and 3/4 cup of white sugar. I also added a splash of Tabasco to give it a slight kick. A great recipe that's good for you too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
73 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2006
Excellent results! We omitted all sugar and reduced salt to less than 1/8 cup. We also increased the horseradish and Worcestershire to give more zip. Result is not spicy, just good flavor. To make the juice thicker (more like V8), we added 3 quarts stewed tomatos (blended to liquid and then strained to remove seeds). Very good. Everyone agrees it is better than V8.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
69 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2011
I scaled the recipe to 4 servings and added a little more carrot than it called for. I also added some other fresh veggies from the garden like chives and chard. I drank it raw. I added braggs amino liquid (like soy sauce) and lime, omitting the sugar. amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jddowns

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Durham, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Angels Camp, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2012
I have used this recipe before and loved it. It has also done double duty as a soup base for me. I don't juice anything, just run it through the blender to give it a course chop and then cook and bottle the results. It makes a great hurry up meal for soup such as vegetable macaroni, vegetable soup, vegetable beef soup or stew. Just add meat or noodles, and you have an easy meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2010
I really like this juice! I bought a juicer so that I could make my own vegetable juice without all the salt of V8. I scaled this recipe down and made enough for a couple days. I'd like to can it, but I am unsure of how to. I don't own a pressure canner. Anyways, I added a little extra worcestshire and horseraddish because it was a little bland for my taste. Good overall though!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2007
juice tomatoes and let them sit over night in the fridge so the juice and water seperate, then baste the water out of the juice, this makes the vegetable juice more thicker
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
106 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2010
I made this reduced to one serving. I didn't have beets, but had all of the other ingredients. The flavor was amazing. I will cut down on the onion next time, because it packed a powerful punch! I would also like to add beets next time I make it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hawthorne, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Fair Lawn, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2013
This was very good and fairly easy to make. I did omit the horseradish because I do not care for it, but both my husband and I loved it. thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Ann
Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2012
This recipe is really awsome. I grow everything even the beets and garlic. One thing I did different was add the beet juice that I had used for the beets I cooked for dinner and and used less water. I also added less sugar . I also added some cumin and fresh parsley. I used my food processor, the bullet and my sieve, to get the right constistensy. I also 1/2 the recipe and used more carrots. I made 5 quarts of this recipe and posted a picture too. Its a great recipe. Will make more in a couple of days. Thanks for posting this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ann

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Providence Forge, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2012
A great recipe. Better than V8. I was afraid to add the 6 quarts of water so I did short it on water but after canning the juice was pretty thick. I will just water it down as I open the jars. I plan to use it making bloody marys'
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Tropical Carrot-Apple Juice

A refreshing tropical juice with pineapple, ginger, beets, and more!

Breakfast Zinger Juice

Use your juicer to make a super-healthy drink with beets, carrots, and apples.

Watermelon Cucumber Juice

This cool, refreshing juice stars cucumbers, watermelon, and lime.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States