Homemade Vegetable Juice Cocktail Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2007
juice tomatoes and let them sit over night in the fridge so the juice and water seperate, then baste the water out of the juice, this makes the vegetable juice more thicker
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
102 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2005
This recipe is much better than V8! And much less sodium than V8! I used 2 teaspoons of canning salt and 3/4 cup of white sugar. I also added a splash of Tabasco to give it a slight kick. A great recipe that's good for you too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
69 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2006
Excellent results! We omitted all sugar and reduced salt to less than 1/8 cup. We also increased the horseradish and Worcestershire to give more zip. Result is not spicy, just good flavor. To make the juice thicker (more like V8), we added 3 quarts stewed tomatos (blended to liquid and then strained to remove seeds). Very good. Everyone agrees it is better than V8.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
64 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2006
We've made this recipe twice. Each time we've reduced the sugar called for, and actually think we may try leaving it out altogether next time as we found it to be overly sweet both times. But we've been pleased overall with the recipe and will be tyring it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2010
I made this reduced to one serving. I didn't have beets, but had all of the other ingredients. The flavor was amazing. I will cut down on the onion next time, because it packed a powerful punch! I would also like to add beets next time I make it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hawthorne, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Fair Lawn, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2011
I scaled the recipe to 4 servings and added a little more carrot than it called for. I also added some other fresh veggies from the garden like chives and chard. I drank it raw. I added braggs amino liquid (like soy sauce) and lime, omitting the sugar. amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jddowns

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Durham, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Angels Camp, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2010
I really like this juice! I bought a juicer so that I could make my own vegetable juice without all the salt of V8. I scaled this recipe down and made enough for a couple days. I'd like to can it, but I am unsure of how to. I don't own a pressure canner. Anyways, I added a little extra worcestshire and horseraddish because it was a little bland for my taste. Good overall though!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2011
This was pretty good! A lot less salty than V8...but it can be suited to the drinker's taste. I downsized the recipe considerably and of course, I don't have a juicer for all these yummy veggies...so I used a blender and strained it. :) Thanks for the recipe, my dad sure appreciates it! :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Living In: Appomattox, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2009
While it is healthier than store bought since the salt is controlled, it took an awfully long time to render mediocre flavor. Plus the ingredients cost more than to buy it pre-made. My suggestion to anyone trying this recipe is to arm yourself with lots of spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2006
I downsized this recipe considerably, so maybe that's one reason why it seemed to not be perfect, although it's good. Also, I don't know if some of my veggies were the same size as the recipe asks for. After all, there are different sizes of green peppers, carrots, etc! I'll probably try it again soon, that's how much I liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pinhais, Paraná, Brazil

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Tropical Carrot-Apple Juice

A refreshing tropical juice with pineapple, ginger, beets, and more!

Breakfast Zinger Juice

Use your juicer to make a super-healthy drink with beets, carrots, and apples.

Watermelon Cucumber Juice

This cool, refreshing juice stars cucumbers, watermelon, and lime.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States