Homemade Vanilla Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2013
The basic recipe is great for a mild vanilla taste. It needs 3 or 4 beans, split and scraped to develop a strong vanilla flavor desired by most bakers. "Topping off" defeats the purpose of steeping for several weeks and dilutes the extract. I suggest starting a second bottle once you begin using the first. Once you've finished the first, the second will be ready for use and you can reuse your vanilla beans in the first bottle. I don't suggest reusing the beans more than once or twice - fresh beans will give you the best flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Grandma.Cindie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Fitchburg, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2012
Made two bottles and 3 months later we are enjoying our own wonderful Vanilla.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2012
What a great recipe. The only reason I gave it 4 stars is because I feel it takes 4-5 bean for a whole bottle of vodka. I purchased my beans on ebay in bulk and used tahitian and madagascar beans to make to different extracts. So fun to make on your own. I've been making my own extract for 3 yrs now and it's way less expensive than store bought. Next time I'm going to try it in bourbon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Simi Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2011
wonderful idea. Don't know why I hadn't thought of it before. I guess you can also use this in any martini that calls for Vanilla Vodka too. Multinational; even better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carol Rasberry
Home Town: Abilene, Texas, USA
Living In: Merkel, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2011
I bought Grade B Madagascar vanilla beans online from a Frenchman on Ebay in summer 2010. Grade B are the vanilla beans used for extract. My friend who is Euro-trained in food service says that the resulting vanilla is the best--ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by geepa
Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2011
I used a 750 ml bottle of smirnoff with ten madagascar vanilla beans, split them and let them soak for 6 months=homemade vanilla extract.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by geepa

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
I used a pint of Smirnoff vodka and about 6 split vanilla beans. Been shaking weekly for about 5 months. Has a strong acrid alcohol smell and tastes bitter. Not sure what I did wrong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2010
EXCELLENT, QUALITY and INexpensive! I bought the cheap bottle of vodka ($6) and got 30 Madagascar vanilla beans on eBay for $10. THIS IS THE BEST VANILLA. EVER! You will not be disappointed. I'm bottling it, adding a recipe and giving it as gifts for the holidays!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin Tagle

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2010
I started my home-made vanilla a year and a half ago in a bottle of vodka. It has since turned into 2 bottles under my kitchen sink. I love the little vanilla bean seeds in it when you make icing and whipped cream. Oh i also used about 25 beans sliced open. I got them from Ebay for a great price!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHRISTINIMARTINI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2010
I used more vanilla beans than called for and made this in rum instead of vodka and it's amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Homemade Vanilla Extract

See how easy it is to make vanilla extract from scratch.

Homemade Vanilla Pudding

See how to make rich, delectable vanilla pudding from scratch. It's simple!

Vanilla Ice Cream V

This is pure, simple heaven: Vanilla ice cream with great flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States