Homemade Vanilla Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2003
I am so very greatful that you've solved the vanilla mystery, Ginger. (With that name, you were obviously born to be a foodie!!!) I will never buy vanilla again, and think of the joy in giving someone a gorgeously adorned BIG bottle of home-made, low-carb, organic-as-it-gets Vanilla!!!! I will have and share immense pleasure from this gift of your recipe. Merry Christmas to you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SCDEBBIET

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Anderson, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2004
I don't think two vanilla beans is enough. I have made this too, however I use six vanilla beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2006
This recipe rocks!! I used 4 large vanilla beans beacuse 2 beans didn't seem like much in that big bottle. It smells and tastes like the "pure" expensive stuff in the store, but it doesn't have any coloring in it so it's a lot lighter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2006
Should you split the vanilla beans before putting them in the vodka?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wheaton, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2006
It smells awesome. We are going to bake with it this week because it has set for long enough. We put in 6 beans split down the middle, we found them for very cheap at World Market.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2007
I made the recipe as is and after 7 months in my pantry with ocasional shaking, it has a wonderful aroma and taste. No more imitation vanilla for me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Moira

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Modale, Iowa, USA
Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2007
I made this for myself and for friends as a Christmas gifts. It is the best. I used quite a few more beans (5 to 7) in 500 ml of vodka (the size of my bottles). Just keep refreshing the vodka as you use it. The cheapest place to find vanilla beans was on eBay. I got about 35 of them for under $10.00
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2007
This is a good, basic recipe. Some tips to help you: 1. You can split new vanilla beans, but I just throw in used beans from other recipes. RINSE THEM FIRST and the end product will be the same. 2. Two vanilla beans is fine, but your desired flavor will develop over time. I just keep the beans in the liquid, using it as I go. 3. Mix up your liquor selection! I LOVE making vanilla extract out of bourbon for a richer flavor--it's great for fall recipes (pumpkin pie, apple crisp, etc). 4. This is a never-ending process. When your batch is at strength you like, decant most of the liquid into a separate bottle. Top off the original bottle with more liquor, and start the process over again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
175 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2008
This is so easy and good, once you make this you'll never buy the other stuff again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Covington, Ohio, USA
Living In: Marysville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2008
Really easy to make I am giving to family and friends as gifts for xmas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Homemade Vanilla Extract

See how easy it is to make vanilla extract from scratch.

Homemade Vanilla Pudding

See how to make rich, delectable vanilla pudding from scratch. It's simple!

Vanilla Ice Cream V

This is pure, simple heaven: Vanilla ice cream with great flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States