Homemade Vanilla Pudding Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: May 9, 2013
i substituted evaporated milk. i didnt find this at all too sweet. i used it as a base for banana pudding. i made a double batch and it was gone in 2 days.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by soupisgoodfood33

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2013
Made it last night and loved it! Followed other reviewers suggestion of adding all dry ingredients and then cold milk, proceed to heat. Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by funnygirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2013
came out great! the only I change I made was subbing out the corn starch for flour. Instead of 3 tablespoons of starch I used 6 of all purpose flour
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2013
Well, I followed the directions of others first, and then it turned out perfect!! Sadly, I didn't heed the warning of it being too sweet...But I still like the pudding! Next time, I need to really taste it when it's cooking to adjust the sugar amount.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2013
I added some cinnamon and used 2 tablespoons butter, next time I will cut the sugar as it was sweeter than I expected
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Franklin, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2013
This was good. I was not overly impressed with it but my husband and kids really liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Long Valley, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2013
We really loved this recipe with a few tweaks. To avoid lumps, I mixed dry ingredients with cold milk before putting over heat. I took another user's advice and use 1/3 cup of sugar, but it was still too sweet so next time I will only use 1/4 cup. We got impatient and ate it warm, but it was so delicious we might eat it warm every time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2013
Healthy Version: (See below for "lump" tips.) I substituted "Stevia in the Raw" for the sugar, light olive oil for the butter, and used 2% milk. I followed the directions exactly - no lumps. Tasted great, but a little sweet, even with the Stevia. I remedied this by adding a teaspoon of cocoa powder - perfect! A quick and tasty dessert with almost no fat or sugar, and no nasty aftertaste or chemicals. I can't wait to play around with other flavors, and I'm definitely going to try rice pudding! As for the lumps - I have 2 tips. Have the dry ingredients ready while heating the milk. Once the milk has scalded, remove from heat and gradually add the dry ingredients, whisking quickly. Return to heat and keep whisking until the pudding *almost* reaches a boil. Remove from heat, keep whisking for a few more minutes as the pudding cools a little. Immediately place a piece of plastic wrap on the surface of the pudding while cooling. This will prevent a skin from forming, and creating lumps when ready to serve. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kaye's Kitchen

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2013
I am not sure what happened when I made this, but it went hard, like really hard lol. The flavour was ok, not overly sweet or anything. But I went wrong somewhere even after following the recipe exactly. lol I rated it a 3 based on the flavour itself and not my mistakes. lol I will make again and see what happens next time, I like to try a recipe twice before I make my mind up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bzzybeemom3

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Sudbury, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2013
While I'm not a dessert person, my husband and kids are. I made this following the other reviewers suggestions of adding the milk after the dry ingredients and only one ingredient change (less sugar), and my daughter said this is "crazy yummy!" Really quick and easy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Modesto, California, USA
Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 383) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Homemade Vanilla Pudding

See how to make rich, delectable vanilla pudding from scratch. It's simple!

Best Bread Pudding with Vanilla Sauce

A sensational, old family recipe for rich and delicious bread pudding.

Chocolate Cornstarch Pudding

See how to make a super-simple, 5-star chocolate pudding.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States