Homemade Vanilla Pudding Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2014
This is a great basic pudding recipe, and it can be used to make any other pudding you want! I have made it with almond milk and have not had a problem with getting the right consistency. -Add all the dry ingredients, stir in cold liquid, and then heat. Voila, no lumps. If you do get lumps, push it through sifter. -Add some ginger (1/4 tsp) and cinnamon (1/2tsp) powder for a spicy vanilla pudding. -Add some cocoa powder for chocolate. Seriously the possibilities are endless. This is a great recipe to have on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mdean82
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2014
The recipe as written does produce a fantastic pudding with lumps. The "reverse" method suggested by other reviewers will make this a 5-star recipe. It's sad to think that the only pudding I can compare this to is in a Jello box. It took 50 years but I've finally found something better. I'm noticing that this pudding recipe was added over 10 years ago. It's survived a decade of scrutiny. It's a good one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dabeau1

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kristelle Bentley
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2014
Maple & Brown Sugar
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2014
Did it first time no lumps tasted very good almost like a custard but with no egg's. For people with the problem with lumps, when you put the corn starch mixer into the milk you cannot leave it a second soon as the corn starch hits the milk you need to mix or whisk. Best results is using a nice balloon whisky to get rid of the lump and a spoon will not work well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jonathan P Bolton

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2014
I mixed the cornstarch in w/ a 1/2 cup of 'milk' that I reserved. I used 1 1/2 cups of half and half, with 1/4 cup water b/c I had no milk. I couldn't find my vanilla beans, until RIGHT after I potted up my dessert. I love this recipe, and this site. It never occurred to me that I could make pudding from scratch. I was a bit grossed out when I read the ingredients on the instant pudding mix my husband brought home tonight, so I ran here to see how I could avoid that mess. Thanks Rosemary!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carress

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2014
ok. the proper way to make pudding... add milk, sugar, and salt to sauce pan stir until sugar is dissolved at medium- med. high heat. in the mean time wisk 3 egg yokes with the corn starch. when the milk mixture starts to boil temper egg cornstarch mix. add to milk mixture and heat until thickened(180 degrees)remove from heat, wisk in butter and vanilla. there you have it folks, lump free and proper pudding. oh and u may want to strain if you have any burnt chunks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mandac10

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Bavaria, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2014
I love! I love it because I can make it myself without a guardian watching me! It tastes REALLY good to!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lillie Monsky

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2014
I just used this recipe for banana pudding. It was great! I added some cream cheese after the butter and vanilla as an afterthought. It made it really rich. Great basic recipe to have in my box. It is super easy. Definitely mix the dry ingredients with cold milk first though to avoid lumpy pudding.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2014
Great recipe consistency and flavor . It was so easy thank you very much .I did not have any lumps but I added dry ingredients a little at a time and used a wire whisk came out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2014
This was just ok for me. The flavor was good, but only after I added extra vanilla, close to a tablespoon. I made Chocolate Cornstarch Pudding(by Kelly) from this site last night and the texture/thickness was perfect this one needs tinkering with in my opinion. It just didn't thicken up as much as I would have liked, and it's nearly impossible to add more cornstarch because it would thin it out(not sure of the physics behind that, but that is what I've always been told about adding more cornstarch to something that's already been thickened). It had more of a creme anglaise thickness, which was fine since I was serving it over some pound cake I had leftover in the freezer, but it definitely was not "pudding" thickness made as stated. Even cooking on medium heat and constantly stirring, it still scorched on the bottom a bit, and I have brown pieces floating around, it won't deter me from eating it, but I wouldn't serve it to company. I'm not sure if I'll make this again, since I had better luck with the other recipe, I may try that one, but leave out the cocoa powder and add extra vanilla. The method is different too, mix dry first, add milk, then heat. Maybe I'll try this recipe again doing the method like that. Thanks so much for the recipe anyways, it'll give me a challenge to tinker with it(I like tinkering!)! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 430) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Homemade Vanilla Pudding

See how to make rich, delectable vanilla pudding from scratch. It's simple!

Best Bread Pudding with Vanilla Sauce

A sensational, old family recipe for rich and delicious bread pudding.

Chocolate Cornstarch Pudding

See how to make a super-simple, 5-star chocolate pudding.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States