Homemade Vanilla Pudding Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2011
Easy and delicious. I followed the directions exactly. The trick is the whisk together the sugar, cornstarch and salt to an even consistency. *Then* whisk the dry mixture into the bubbling milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2011
for the lumps. mix the cornstarch in a small bowl with cold liquid and then add it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2011
Just made it and couldn't wait for it to cool. I agree with others, put the cornstarch in with the sugar and add cold milk. Whisk constantly because it goes from too thin to scorched quickly! I also recommend cutting back on the sugar. I thought it was way too sweet, which is why I gave it 4 stars. Next time I intend to try it with brown sugar instead to see if it will taste like caramel!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oxford, Michigan, USA
Living In: Owosso, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2011
This is good, I made a couple of changes. I only used 1/4 cup of sugar, added 1/2 tbsp more of vanilla. Topped it off with a little cinnamon and it is a nice change from the homemade chocolate pudding I make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CATWALK16

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2011
This is a good recipe and I took the advice of Kyo, about mixing the ingredients together while still cold. And wala! No lumps! Great advice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scarlett O'Hara

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mira Loma, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2011
Yummy. This recipe is good. Except I only use 1/4 cup sugar. But the pudding is smooth and tasty. I'll use this pudding to fill my eclairs. So fast and easy to make. Next time I'll use real vanilla insead of that imitation stuff. Thank you for the recipe. A keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by darthotto
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2011
I have have never made home made pudding before except making custards and pudding for pies...but this was AWSOME! I love how there is no egg yolks! I used skim milk to make it extra better for me. Too bad I ate the whole pot of pudding. As other reviewers have stated, I also put all the dry ingredient together then added cold milk. Its the only way I've made custards and puddings. I do think it needs to be thicker but I still loved this. I used a really good mexican vanilla and nutmeg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by darthotto

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2011
This was so good and so easy! We poured it over crushed graham crackers and bananas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2011
I'm sure this pudding is normally delicious... but it definitely doesn't take well to using Rice Milk instead of regular milk and Xylitol instead of sugar... So any allergy people out there that are like me, don't bother substituting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leslie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ossipee, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
I gave it a four star because the ingredients was good. Also, I did not want to use eggs cause I tend to make a mess of recipes that ask for it. I wanted something easy and this was very easy but if your not mixing all the time you do get lumply. I did use less of the sugar, more of the butter and instead of cornstarch I used flour. Just make sure to mix all the dry stuff and then add the milk in slowly till you have the lumps out. I did add the butter when cooking and had no problems. Keep mixing all the time. Came out great. I used it hot over some fried bananas with fresh strawberries like a vanilla sauce. I will be making it again and next time I'm going to add chocolate cocoa for some chocolate pudding. Also it took less time to cook for me. Good luck and those who have tried I would say try again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by teddybearplus2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 402) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Homemade Vanilla Pudding

See how to make rich, delectable vanilla pudding from scratch. It's simple!

Best Bread Pudding with Vanilla Sauce

A sensational, old family recipe for rich and delicious bread pudding.

Chocolate Cornstarch Pudding

See how to make a super-simple, 5-star chocolate pudding.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States