Homemade Vanilla Pudding Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2013
This recipe was OK however I am still searching for the perfect pudding recipe....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stafford, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2013
This recipe was too bland and sweet for pudding, it was more like icing. Though, I'd be interested in some of the suggestions of using an egg and cutting down on the sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2013
I thought this recipe was great...a simple but delicious vanilla pudding. I did make a few minor modifications though: i used half and half instead of milk and i used a very high quality vanilla (when using vanilla they are NOT all alike. Do yourself a favor and buy the good stuff for the richest vanilla flavor). I also used 1/3 cup sugar instead of the directed 1/2 cup. I reserved 1/4 cup of the cold milk, or in my case half and half, and blended it with the cornstarch, sugar and salt to a well blended consistency while the rest of the milk was heating in the saucepan. Once it was warm i added my cornstarch milk mixture and continued to stir until thick. The pudding once cooked had a very nice creamy consistency amd did not have cornstarch lumps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2013
I did as Kyo suggested, put in all the dry stuff and added in the cold wet stuff. Worked great!! I also used raw milk (which is legally sellable in my state) and this was a great use for it as it is cooked...and the supercreamy milk only added to the richness!! Instead of vanilla extract, I just split and plopped in what I had left of a Madagascar vanilla bean (I already had maybe a quarter of it cut off to make something else and wanted to use it very soon), and let it sit in there during the whole cooking process, taking out the bean pod when the pudding was thick enough. It only made this more wonderful and rich. The flavor really comes through because of using the cornstarch and not using eggs. I also just bought three Tahitian vanilla beans, which do NOT have the same smell and taste as the Madagascar beans...and I bet you'd really be able to tell the subtle difference in the beans using *especially* this recipe! Next time I might quadruple this. The original recipe doesn't make enough. I already doubled it and my mom ate almost half of it in one sitting. Thanks mom. :P
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2013
very creamy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2013
A good, basic vanilla pudding recipe without eggs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2013
"Whoda thunk" that changing flour for cornstarch, adding sugar and vanilla would change a simple white sauce into Vanilla pudding! omg, it's DELICIOUS! I'll never have to buy boxed pudding again. A few notes: This needs to be made a day before or early in the morning so it cools off to be edible, but it's delicious. A few recipe changes tho: I added the sugar and salt into the milk first. I added an extra tbsp of cornstarch and dissolved the cornstarch in tepid water before adding to milk. (prevents lumping) I also added a bit of Coffeemate French Vanilla as I use imitation vanilla not real vanilla. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FallenAnjel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2013
Quick and easy, with an excellent taste and texture. I did put the cornstarch in the pot with the cold milk. I would make this again and again, beats the boxed stuff and doesn't have a chemical taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2013
Easay to make and delicious. Just take great care not to asorch it. Lovely with fresh berries stirred into it and garnished with fresh French lavender leaves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2013
Bad. There's no real taste besides the thick corn starch - and 3 servings makes only one cup of pudding. But I guess that worked out in my favour because it tasted horrible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 409) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Homemade Vanilla Pudding

See how to make rich, delectable vanilla pudding from scratch. It's simple!

Best Bread Pudding with Vanilla Sauce

A sensational, old family recipe for rich and delicious bread pudding.

Chocolate Cornstarch Pudding

See how to make a super-simple, 5-star chocolate pudding.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States