Homemade Vanilla Pudding Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2014
Yummy! Doubled the recipe, but used half the sugar and a little extra vanilla. Wonderful. Will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2014
My daughter, who is soon to give me a grandbaby, was craving banana pudding. I was going to make Banana Pudding IV from this website. My husband bought the wrong sized box of pudding required. I didn't want to disappoint the woman that would soon give me the greatest gift. So, I made this recipe to incorporate with the box of pudding. I have yet to make the Banana pudding recipe, but this was very tasty and easy to make. I had all the ingredients on hand and will use this recipe again when my grandbaby gets here. Like another reviewer suggested, I added the dry ingredients to the sauce pan first. I then added 1/2 cup of milk and mixed until dry ingredients were dissolved. Then added the rest of the milk. No lumps. I haven't given it enough time to set up and chill, but I am sure this recipe will work great for what I wanted it for. Not quite the same as boxed pudding, but good for a homemade treat anytime. Will try to add some cocoa powder next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ripon, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Wisconsin Rapids, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Ivan Hoe
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2014
Dear Rosemary, Thank you for the ingredients list, I tried it, eagerly waiting to try it once it's chilled : ) I added 1 egg yolk to thicken it and follow the reviews in making the pudding. Ivan Hoe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2014
This recipe was a success! it turned out delicous and lump-free for me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jrbaker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2014
this is so good i love it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2014
When using cornstarch it is always best to divide the liquid being used, remove 1/4c milk and place into separate container and as you heat the rest of the milk place cornstarch alone into the 1/4c milk and whisk. It's important to whisk to prevent lumpy and create a good consistency. It's important to add the cornstarch when the rest of the milk is warm enough and place the salt and vanilla at same time. Last step put in butter. There are also some variations, you can place the cornstarch in and allow the liquid to boil for up to 2 minutes before pouring into the serving cups. Just make sure to stir constantly to prevent burning and you can omit the butter if you boil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2014
I just made this exactly as written. as long as you keep wisking you will have little to no lumps. very tasty served warm as well as chilled a bit.. I made cinnamon raisin toast and broke it up in a bowl and scooped a warm portion over it.. definitely worth trying.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2013
Delicious. I made a half recipe. Whisked an egg yolk into the milk and poured into dry ingredients then heated it. Perfect consistency. Poured warm pudding over sliced bananas. Mmmm. Gluten free bananna pudding.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2013
Good recipe. I avoided lumps by slowly whisking in the dry ingredients. This worked perfectly in a peanut butter trifle recipe that was a huge hit at Christmas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2013
I completed this recipe substituting the cornstarch for ap flour (I added one additional tsp). Instead of adding the vanilla and the butter once the boiling process had completed, instead I added it after sifting in and blending the sugar mixture into the pot, bringing to boil. The final results were DELISH!! Thanks for such a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 408) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Homemade Vanilla Pudding

See how to make rich, delectable vanilla pudding from scratch. It's simple!

Best Bread Pudding with Vanilla Sauce

A sensational, old family recipe for rich and delicious bread pudding.

Chocolate Cornstarch Pudding

See how to make a super-simple, 5-star chocolate pudding.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States