Homemade Vanilla Pudding Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2012
I'm only giving 4 stars instead of 5 due to the appearance. It looked like very white, thick milk. I thought the dark vanilla and the yellow of the butter would of tinted it at least. We didn't garnish it with anything and kids had it gone before it could fully cool. They loved the taste but not the look. Next time I may add a drop of food coloring for the kids VERY SIMPLE VERY GOOD. It's a keeper. The only change that I made was in how I combined the dry and wet ingredients to prevent lumps before heating. This took longer but was well worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2012
I modified this one quite a bit observing the suggestions above and decided to try them all out in one recipe! A little different than Rosemary's Original but she still deserves credit! Thanks Rosemary!!! So, using the original as a base, I mixed in all ingredients while still unheated EXCEPT vanilla- I added that last after taking it off the stove at the end.. Mixing everything together at the beginning prevented lumps 100%, and cooked all the flavors together gorgeously. I added 2 egg whites and used 2 tblspn. of butter. To avoid the annoying 'film' when pudding cools, I filled the base of my sink with ice water and stirred until slightly chilled. The most mouthwatering vanilla pudding you've ever tasted! Also, I separated the pudding in half, put the other half on medium low heat, and stirred in 2+1/2 tsp. coco powder, whisked it in, and 1+1/2 tblspn. Magic Shell Chocolate Sauce. Sounds crazy but OMG! The Perfect Chocolate Pudding. Chilled it the same way. ENJOY!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2012
Tastes great and easy to make! I just put all of the ingredients at one time and stir on a low/medium flame and I have no lumps. Beats a box mix!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2012
I used this as a base for rice pudding, it was delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathleen Peterson Ursenbach

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: South Jordan, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2012
I kept the measurements the same only added the dry ingredients into the pot and then whisked in the milk. This is delicious, my whole family loved it and I will make it again! Thank you for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sillasmiles

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Durand, Michigan, USA
Living In: Shelby Township, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2012
very tasty! All I did was add 1/2 tsp extra vanilla. came out great! Just right for after-school snack for the kiddies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LilGal

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2012
this was excellent i have also made this adding in a couple egg yolks that i have tempered with some pudding for an even richer pudding always start with cold ingredients mixed together then bring up till almost boiling and you wont get a single lump
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2012
i know Rosemary says there's no substitute for the butter, but when you want pudding and have only margerine, it works. great recipe, as the reviewers have said, its best to dissolve the cornstarch in cold milk to avoid lumps. i've also subbed vanilla bean paste for extract and made it addictive. someone said they double the vanilla and that's the next way i'm gonna try it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2011
I was very disappointed in this recipe. First of all, it's way too sweet! I will not archive it for later use... : /
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2011
Yummy, easy pudding. The problems people are having with the lumps can be solved by simply putting all the dry ingredients through a mesh strainer. That will elimate the flour/sugar lumps and be better absorbed by the milk. Also used 2 tsps of all-purpose flour to substitute for the corn starch and turned out fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 403) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Homemade Vanilla Pudding

See how to make rich, delectable vanilla pudding from scratch. It's simple!

Best Bread Pudding with Vanilla Sauce

A sensational, old family recipe for rich and delicious bread pudding.

Chocolate Cornstarch Pudding

See how to make a super-simple, 5-star chocolate pudding.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States