Homemade Vanilla Pudding Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2014
I mixed the cornstarch in w/ a 1/2 cup of 'milk' that I reserved. I used 1 1/2 cups of half and half, with 1/4 cup water b/c I had no milk. I couldn't find my vanilla beans, until RIGHT after I potted up my dessert. I love this recipe, and this site. It never occurred to me that I could make pudding from scratch. I was a bit grossed out when I read the ingredients on the instant pudding mix my husband brought home tonight, so I ran here to see how I could avoid that mess. Thanks Rosemary!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carress

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2014
YOUNGCOOK same with me
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dhruv Dhall

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2014
ok. the proper way to make pudding... add milk, sugar, and salt to sauce pan stir until sugar is dissolved at medium- med. high heat. in the mean time wisk 3 egg yokes with the corn starch. when the milk mixture starts to boil temper egg cornstarch mix. add to milk mixture and heat until thickened(180 degrees)remove from heat, wisk in butter and vanilla. there you have it folks, lump free and proper pudding. oh and u may want to strain if you have any burnt chunks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mandac10

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Bavaria, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2014
I love! I love it because I can make it myself without a guardian watching me! It tastes REALLY good to!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2014
I just used this recipe for banana pudding. It was great! I added some cream cheese after the butter and vanilla as an afterthought. It made it really rich. Great basic recipe to have in my box. It is super easy. Definitely mix the dry ingredients with cold milk first though to avoid lumpy pudding.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2014
Great recipe consistency and flavor . It was so easy thank you very much .I did not have any lumps but I added dry ingredients a little at a time and used a wire whisk came out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2014
This was just ok for me. The flavor was good, but only after I added extra vanilla, close to a tablespoon. I made Chocolate Cornstarch Pudding(by Kelly) from this site last night and the texture/thickness was perfect this one needs tinkering with in my opinion. It just didn't thicken up as much as I would have liked, and it's nearly impossible to add more cornstarch because it would thin it out(not sure of the physics behind that, but that is what I've always been told about adding more cornstarch to something that's already been thickened). It had more of a creme anglaise thickness, which was fine since I was serving it over some pound cake I had leftover in the freezer, but it definitely was not "pudding" thickness made as stated. Even cooking on medium heat and constantly stirring, it still scorched on the bottom a bit, and I have brown pieces floating around, it won't deter me from eating it, but I wouldn't serve it to company. I'm not sure if I'll make this again, since I had better luck with the other recipe, I may try that one, but leave out the cocoa powder and add extra vanilla. The method is different too, mix dry first, add milk, then heat. Maybe I'll try this recipe again doing the method like that. Thanks so much for the recipe anyways, it'll give me a challenge to tinker with it(I like tinkering!)! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2014
I think store bought puddings with all the artificial flavors have ruined me. This recipe seems a little bland. I think as pie filling or parfait it would be better (other flavors to mingle with the vanilla).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicolec79

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Orinda, California, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2014
I made this recipe with the ingredients exactly as written using the microwave method that is used for "Hasty Chocolate Pudding" It turned out perfect. I used a large microwave safe bowl added the dry ingredients, whisked in the milk until completely blended, then microwaved for 3 minutes. I then whisked it again and microwaved at 1 min intervals until it reached the perfect consistency which in my microwave took an additional 2 and a half minutes for a total time of 5 and a half minutes. I then stirred in the butter and vanilla. I topped mine with a little cinnamon and nutmeg and it was fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2014
thank you :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 407) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Homemade Vanilla Pudding

See how to make rich, delectable vanilla pudding from scratch. It's simple!

Best Bread Pudding with Vanilla Sauce

A sensational, old family recipe for rich and delicious bread pudding.

Chocolate Cornstarch Pudding

See how to make a super-simple, 5-star chocolate pudding.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States