Homemade Vanilla Extract Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2010
I used about 8 pods split lengthwise in a bottle of Smirnoff exactly like the one in the picture (I think it is 750 ml). After 3 weeks it is so dark you have to hold it up to the light to see the pods inside. It smells wonderful, just slightest smell of Vodka left but I don’t think it will be there much longer. I have to try very hard to wait until it is ready before I try it. I will be putting it though a coffee filter to get all the seeds and stuff out. I read that if you dry out the pods when you are done and add them to a plastic bag with sugar it will flavor the sugar, good for baking and decorating cookies and cakes. I will be trying that when my vanilla is done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
104 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by norahS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2010
I feel like I just wasted vodka. The stuff doesn't even smell half decent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shalaine_1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kingston, Ontario, Canada
Photo by Texastwinkie
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2009
I stumbled upon a Vanilla Extract recipe years ago and have always wanted to try it; most recipes seem very similar to one another. I used a 1.75 liter bottle of Svedka and 25 Madagascar Vanilla Beans that I purchased from Beanilla along with some small bottles to bottle my extract for gift giving. The beans were very plump and seemed to be very nice quality. I split them and scraped out the seeds and placed seeds and beans into the 1.75 liter bottle of Vodka to age for 3 months, stored it in a dark area and gave it a little shake about once a week. After it aged for 3 months, I filtered it through a gold coffee filter to separate the seeds and bean fibers from the liquid, Don’t discard the beans, save them to place into the individual bottles. Gold coffee filters can be found at Walmart for about $5, they are very fine and make an excellent filter and they don’t absorb the extract. I placed one vanilla bean into each bottle so that it will continue to strengthen in the months to come. Used a small funnel to fill each individual bottle, added my custom labels, a gift tag and bow and I have a wonderful little gift to give to family and friends. I filled 10, 4 oz bottles and 1, 8 oz bottle and had about a cup of extract left over that I saved for myself. I would recommend using a 4 oz bottle; it seemed the perfect size for gift giving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
269 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Texastwinkie

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2009
Until I saw this recipe on here, I would have never thought this was possible to make your own vanilla! It's expensive to buy and it's still not top quality from the store. This is great b/c you can continually add to the bottle as you use it up. Also makes great gift in individual little bottles for Christmas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Corrina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kyle, Texas, USA
Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2009
Once you make your own vanilla you will never buy it at the grocery again! You can also use a combination of vodka & dark run for a richer flavor. I have also used tequila and dark rum. Try your own combinations. Just be patient and let the vanilla sit for several months. I give it a little shake about once a week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2009
Perfect! Definitely has stronger/better flavor as you let it sit. I've had some steeping for about a year now & its awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2009
Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2009
so far so good...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alyssa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2009
I have been complaining about the cost of store bought vanilla extract for years. No more complaining from me! It has been three months since i started my vanilla and it's sooo good! The beans can be expensive but i found them much cheaper if ordered online. I took the advise to strain some of the vanilla using a coffee filter and store in a small bottle while the rest of it continues to steep! I thought i would have 10 years worth of vanilla extract but my husband insists on taking a sip of it each day! I can't keep him out of it! I plan on making more and finding cute bottles to give away as gifts. I'm so glad i came across this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Dover, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2009
I just love how easy and delicious this vanilla is. I messed it up the first time, but wasn't sad with the results anyways.. instead of clear rum or vodka, i used the dark rum I had lying around, and used only a little bit of one vanilla pod (yes, i know, I'm cheap)... The greatest thing was that this was just an awesome drink, and I drank it all within a few weeks in my coffee, hot cocoa, warm milk, not to mention ice creams and cakes. So the main problem with the recipe is DON'T give into temptation... hide it away for a few months, and choose an alcohol that you won't be tempted to drink. Hahaha, the lessons you learn from one little recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 65) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Homemade Vanilla Extract

See how easy it is to make vanilla extract from scratch.

Vanilla Ice Cream V

This is pure, simple heaven: Vanilla ice cream with great flavor.

Homemade Taco Seasoning Mix

A simple taco seasoning mix that’s lower in salt than packaged mixes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States