Homemade Vanilla Extract Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2010
After a lot of research on this I just used a 1.75 Leader bottle of vodka and used 18 Grade A Madagascar beans in about 4 cups. 7 Madagascar beans (Grade A) and 10 Tahitian grade B beans in the other 4 cups. I had already ordered my beans on line before doing extra research. According to the experts(?) you should use Grade "B Extract" type beans for making vanilla. Be sure to scrape the seeds out of the beans & add to the vodka. I have ordered more Grade B Madascar beans and plan to make more with those. I'll see if I can tell a difference and add to my comments at Christmas. This is fun - I got cute bottles and corks from WalMart - $1.00 each. Remember that dark bottles are what vanilla come in-BUT - they sit on shelves for a long time at the store - most people put their vanilla in a dark cabinet - so I didn't worry about that and purchased clear cute bottles (4 oz.) - I'll just tell them to store it in a dark place. I think they will look great with a vanilla bean inside and they can add more vodka to it to replenish! I ordered from "Vanilla Products USA" rather than fighting with bidding. Have fun - its a great project and I'm sure I will have lots of happy friends - family & co-workers! The more beans you order - the cheaper they are! After 6 days-the smell & color is incredible! Use good beans and you won't need more that 4 (5 max.) per cup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2010
I will be attempting this homemade vanilla immediately! My husband swears by shrimp soaked in "pure" vanilla as the best catfish bait, therefore all of my vanilla disappears! Can't wait to try this. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2010
I have been doing this for years and years. I use only the single jar of McCormick's vanilla beans found at the grocery store for about $3-4 with two beans in it and then use a pint of the cheapest vodka. It's still magnificent and a bottle will last me for a couple of years. It makes an amazing Christmas gift, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2010
This is great I been making my own vanilla for over 20 years now. Forget the stuff you buy in the store, home made is better. For Shalaine_1 the longer you keep it sealed and in a dark cool place the stronger it gets plus good quality Vanilla beens are also the key.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shutter bug 1

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2010
I use Martha Stewarts recipe which calls for 1 cup at a time. Her recipe is 1 c. good vodka to 2 split vanilla beans and let it set for 3 months. I have 4 c. of it made now for Christmas gifts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
175 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2010
I'm so happy to have found this recipe!!! If not for the reviews, I would have passed this by! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2010
This is wonderful. I have been making my own Vanilla in this manner for years and years. It keeps forever (or till you use it up!). I'll never buy those expensive little bottles again and this has the strength of real vanilla, not vanilla flavoring which is weak tasting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DinnerDiva

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Castle, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Saint Augustine, Florida, USA
Reviewed: May 10, 2010
Easy. I used it for the first time today (after the beans had been in the alcohol for about 4 weeks). It smells fabulous and tastes great. I put it in my rice pudding!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TINACABINA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buena Park, California, USA
Living In: Turlock, California, USA
Photo by sopenia
Reviewed: May 9, 2010
5 stars for the great idea. I´ll update after the 3 months of seeping and used in a recipe. At 2 euros per pod, I hope it wasn´t a waste of money. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sopenia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 6, 2010
I never knew this is how vanilla extract was made. It is so easy, taste great and is cheaper than buying it at the store! I got a big pack of vanilla beans on ebay for a great deal. Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tssunshine24

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stow, Ohio, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 65) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Homemade Vanilla Extract

See how easy it is to make vanilla extract from scratch.

Vanilla Ice Cream V

This is pure, simple heaven: Vanilla ice cream with great flavor.

Homemade Taco Seasoning Mix

A simple taco seasoning mix that’s lower in salt than packaged mixes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States