Homemade Vanilla Extract Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2010
I made extract a few years ago watching martha stewart but somehow I got the recipe wrong I only added 4 beans to 1liter and it was vanilla vodka. It's been on my shelf for years I recently saw this and found out you can get beans on ebay for cheap. At my store 2 beans are $4. I added 10 madagascar extract grade. So far it looks great and smells great it's only been a week. For those that say it isn't vanilly enough you need to add more beans online best price.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2010
What a wonderful receipe~ My boss is a celiac (Gluten sensitive) and cannot have any grain alcohol. I was taught by her, using potato vodka on making her own vanilla.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by snappy cooker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Hayward, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2010
I've been making vanilla extracts and sugars for many years. Here are a few tips: You want to purchase the grade B beans not because they are cheaper (which they are) but because they have a lower water content. That is the grade used commercially. By splitting your beans, or snipping into small bits, you expose more surface area, which makes a better extract. Commercial V.E. is macerated. Since my big pantry bottle of extract contains lots of chopped beans, I strain what I need into a smaller bottle for my cupboard, and for gifts. Don't be afraid to add more beans. I prefer a double-strength extract myself. When your extract runs low; no need to toss your beans out. You can continue to use them by adding more vodka and beans to the existing batch if desired. If you feel your vanilla extract is too weak, just add a few more beans (the drier grade B beans). Go ahead and experiment. Madagascar a.k.a. Bourbon beans provide the traditional vanilla scent you are probably expecting. Tahitian vanilla beans are softer and more floral. Mexican vanilla extract pairs very well with chocolate. Hope that was helpful! Want to learn more? Search Wikipedia, or check out the FDA quidelines for making commercial extracts which are posted online fda_dot_gov.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2010
Perfect! Best if you get vodka with 35% alcohol. Stolichnaya works wonderfully. Thanks RE_BEKAH!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2010
I have a batch in the making....been about 6 months. Plan on adding a 4oz bottle to my Xmas cookie packages. Tip...get your vanilla beans on Ebay. Just won 30 beans for ONE CENT. Yes shipping is $5.99, but it's coming from France. Any tips on the labels for the bottles or where anyone gets their bottles...had an issue on Ebay...won 25 for .99 and I think the seller did not quite like that. Finally got them, but what a hassle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Attleboro, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Cary, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2010
So far so good, we're about a 3 weeks in now, and is so easy, smells super yummy. I rate this 5 stars based on simplicity, and smell alone. JUST WONDERFUL! Very excited for the finished product!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimberlia

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2010
I recently decided to make my own vanilla extract for gifts and resale (I want to start a business someday and am experimenting with some of the products I will carry). I have read a lot about the proper way to make it and cam across a site that states requirements (by the FDA) of vanilla extract. Apparently, it needs to be 6 beans per cup of alcohol, and anything less than that is just flavored liquor. Since I'll be selling mine eventually, this is the ratio I will go by. Also, it technically needs to be 70 proof (35%) alcohol.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
69 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CulinaryRookie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: La Crosse, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2010
After a lot of research on this I just used a 1.75 Leader bottle of vodka and used 18 Grade A Madagascar beans in about 4 cups. 7 Madagascar beans (Grade A) and 10 Tahitian grade B beans in the other 4 cups. I had already ordered my beans on line before doing extra research. According to the experts(?) you should use Grade "B Extract" type beans for making vanilla. Be sure to scrape the seeds out of the beans & add to the vodka. I have ordered more Grade B Madascar beans and plan to make more with those. I'll see if I can tell a difference and add to my comments at Christmas. This is fun - I got cute bottles and corks from WalMart - $1.00 each. Remember that dark bottles are what vanilla come in-BUT - they sit on shelves for a long time at the store - most people put their vanilla in a dark cabinet - so I didn't worry about that and purchased clear cute bottles (4 oz.) - I'll just tell them to store it in a dark place. I think they will look great with a vanilla bean inside and they can add more vodka to it to replenish! I ordered from "Vanilla Products USA" rather than fighting with bidding. Have fun - its a great project and I'm sure I will have lots of happy friends - family & co-workers! The more beans you order - the cheaper they are! After 6 days-the smell & color is incredible! Use good beans and you won't need more that 4 (5 max.) per cup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2010
I will be attempting this homemade vanilla immediately! My husband swears by shrimp soaked in "pure" vanilla as the best catfish bait, therefore all of my vanilla disappears! Can't wait to try this. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2010
I have been doing this for years and years. I use only the single jar of McCormick's vanilla beans found at the grocery store for about $3-4 with two beans in it and then use a pint of the cheapest vodka. It's still magnificent and a bottle will last me for a couple of years. It makes an amazing Christmas gift, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 62) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Homemade Vanilla Extract

See how easy it is to make vanilla extract from scratch.

Vanilla Ice Cream V

This is pure, simple heaven: Vanilla ice cream with great flavor.

Homemade Taco Seasoning Mix

A simple taco seasoning mix that’s lower in salt than packaged mixes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States