Homemade Vanilla Extract Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2011
I bought some vanilla beans on ebay, following the suggestion of other reviewers. I love using this. It is so much cheaper, and fun to be using something I made myself!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie Fegler

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boulder, Colorado, USA
Living In: Chesterfield, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2011
Super easy. Very inexpensive. Batch #2 is already in the works!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bedford, Ohio, USA
Living In: Solon, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2011
At four months, I can see that my extract is moving in the right direction. I think it will be great at six months but there is no way that I would have used it at three weeks. Time is this recipe's best friend and I would not try to rush it with the minimum time recommended.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by riz
Living In: Chapin, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ChristineM
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2011
Used Stolichnaya vodka, 8 Madagascar beans and 4 Mexican vanilla beans, and as suggested in many reviews, I split them open before adding them to the bottle (Oh yeah, I realized as I was doing this that I had to remove about 1/4 cup of vodka so it wouldn't overflow after all the beans were added! Then I went here and clicked on CPA's review as being helpful!) I must say, the fragrance from the Mexican beans was unbelievably wonderful compared to the not-so-shabby but somewhat more "plain" Madagascar beans. It's only been 4 weeks, but my vanilla was brown within two weeks. Used a little for the first time in a coffee drink because I couldn't resist - great flavor! I'm still going to let this batch sit while I use up the other bottles I already had on hand, but I will use this method forever! Only changes will be to mix types of vanilla beans for a more layered flavor, split them first, and probably throw a couple more in than what was listed in the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ChristineM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hopedale, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Holden, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2011
Ok, it's been almost three months and I started to use my homemade vanilla this past week. I love it! It has a smooth rich taste that's much better than store bought. I split the beans lengthwise and used the least expensive vodka I could find. I currently have 2, one quart bottles and one gallon bottle "marinating". Because my taste always calls for more flavoring and spices in my recipes, I used about 12 beans for each quart and twice that much for the gallon bottle. What I'm using now is what was poured off before adding beans to the bottles and for that amount I used about 5 beans split lengthwise and cut in half. I still have plenty of beans left so I'm going to experiment with a bottle of bourbon and I will try a "better" vodka to see if there is truly a difference but, I am very satisfied with what I have thus far and I do a lot of baking. BTW, I am going to use the gallon bottle to make 2oz. bottles of vanilla to use as Christmas gifts for my family and friends who bake. Thanks so much for sharing this recipe. I will never have to buy store bought vanilla extract again. Homemade is sooooooo much better and over a period of time, cheaper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by msladygee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2011
Excellent! Economical! Purchased vanilla beans off of eBay; used Smirnoff vodka. Placed 10 split beans per 750ml bottle and let steep 3 months.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vanessa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2011
you will gain more flavor by splitting the vanilla bean in half and scraping the insides and adding that to the alcohol. Try different beans for different flavors and mix them to create a more complex flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2011
Okay, this isn't quite a review this is just to remind me as to when I started making this. Everything went smoothly until I overflowed the bottle of vodka. Silly me! I had to take two cups of vodka out to make all the beans fit without overflowing. After I put all the split vanilla beans in the vodka I was able to add back one cup. The last cup I put in a cute bottle from the container store along with 2 to 3 beans. I used a 1.75ml bottle of vodka. I'll update in 3-6 months!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CPA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Naperville, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2011
My 6 months are finally up! This worked SO WELL! I made 2 kinds - vodka and bourbon. Lvu 'em both! So-long store bought! See ya! ***update*** I have added to my stash and find that I prefer the bourbon to the vodka. I now use about 10 beans per cup and I have a much truer extract as opposed to flavored alcohol. I also split and scrape the paste out of each bean. This makes the process quicker and I really like more flecks of the vanilla in my recipes. If you have trouble cutting your beans I have found that placing the bean on the cutting board, pierce the stem end with a very sharp knife, keep the knife in the board, hold the stem and then pull the bean across the blade. This is easier than trying to split the bean as it rolls around moving the knife through it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
Wonderful and favorful. I bought 1# beans off of amazon and used less beans 6 was good for me because I had some other vanilla I needed to use up, so I just let it sit a little bit longer. I did shake it more than said and it was fun to watch it turn amber. The bottom is the best with all the little seeds...extra favor. I use it for more than baking we put it on meat also. It must be cooked so I also made vanilla sugar with my beans for things I wanted to not cook...vanilla sugar is great on buttered toast. I bake a lot since we have allergies in the family and this is great for milk, gums, and corn allergies. Don't forget to make enough to share.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mishawaka, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 68) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Homemade Vanilla Extract

See how easy it is to make vanilla extract from scratch.

Vanilla Ice Cream V

This is pure, simple heaven: Vanilla ice cream with great flavor.

Homemade Taco Seasoning Mix

A simple taco seasoning mix that’s lower in salt than packaged mixes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States