Homemade Vanilla Extract Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 12, 2012
I followed the recipe and after 5 months I am disappointed in the results so far. Fairly weak flavor, and that's with using extract grade beans. The recipe doesn't even specify to use them and I expect the results would be even more disappointing using regular grade beans. I agree with those who assert that more beans are needed for this to work. I just now added 5 more beans and we'll see what happens.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful
Photo by Molly
Reviewed: May 8, 2012
I made a double batch of this starting on October 15, 2011. I made a batch with vodka and another at the suggestion of What's for Dinner, mom? using bourbon. Each bottle was 750 ml and I put in 10 split vanilla beans that I purchased from spicesage. I waited the 6 months before using it, shaking the bottles every week or so. The results are wonderful smelling vanilla. I made a batch of 'Vanilla Wafers II' from this site, spliting the recipe so that I could use both vanillas in the same recipe. Both cookies had a great vanilla taste, and you could tell a difference. I would like to make this again to have for Christmas gifts. I won't be purchasing pure vanilla anymore when this one is so easy to make. Thanks for sharing your recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2012
I used 750ml of a good-quality vodka, and 24 small vanilla beans I had ordered some months back that had started drying out. It took less than a week before the extract was a good, dark colour, that smelled entirely of vanilla. I admit - I tasted it at that point, and it seemed ready to go. Fewer beans and I would let it steep for longer to extract the maximum flavour. I also sliced each bean in half lengthwise and scraped out the seeds. I tossed everything into the vodka. I will make my own from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cherilyn Nobleza
Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2011
So much fun to make and wait for. I would go in to the cupboard every once in a while just to admire and shake the bottle! I started mine back in the spring to have ready for Christmas gifts. Recipients were intrigued and thrilled with such an unusual and useful gift. I will try more beans next time though, as it didn't seem as strong as it should have.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MrsFisher0729
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2011
Made this today...so easy! I can't wait to try it in three weeks! I used a medium size bottle of vodka and three beans. Update: I used my extract to make frosting. Yum! I plan to add more beans to make the flavor stronger.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsFisher0729

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jonesboro, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2011
One word: IndriVanilla! I got my vanilla beans from them really inexpensively. I did my vanilla extract in a combination of gold and spiced rum instead of vodka but followed the same method and it's amazing. I've been adding the empty pods after I scrape them and use them in other recipes, too, and the flavor is just getting better and better developed. So much better than storebought!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef W

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Logan, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2011
I started my extract a couple of months ago in preparation for Christmas gifts for my baker friends and family (I'm also making vanilla infused sugar for them as well). I decided to experiment with one bottle of Smirnoff Orange as well. I used the orange extract just last night in a custard recipe - and it was delicious! I can't wait to finish sampling all the other extracts I've made for my friends/family (want to make sure they taste yummy before I hand them out)! At first, I was a bit hesitant to make my own extracts/sugars because I thought the vanilla beans themselves were so expensive... but my friend told me to check eBay - and I buy the beans now by the 1/2 pound. Surprisingly less expensive and so far, they are excellent quality. :-) It's especially great if you're making a lot as gifts and need a lot of beans!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2011
I bought some vanilla beans on ebay, following the suggestion of other reviewers. I love using this. It is so much cheaper, and fun to be using something I made myself!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie Fegler

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boulder, Colorado, USA
Living In: Chesterfield, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2011
Super easy. Very inexpensive. Batch #2 is already in the works!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bedford, Ohio, USA
Living In: Solon, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2011
At four months, I can see that my extract is moving in the right direction. I think it will be great at six months but there is no way that I would have used it at three weeks. Time is this recipe's best friend and I would not try to rush it with the minimum time recommended.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by riz
Living In: Chapin, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 65) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Homemade Vanilla Extract

See how easy it is to make vanilla extract from scratch.

Vanilla Ice Cream V

This is pure, simple heaven: Vanilla ice cream with great flavor.

Homemade Taco Seasoning Mix

A simple taco seasoning mix that’s lower in salt than packaged mixes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States