Homemade Vanilla Extract Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2011
So much fun to make and wait for. I would go in to the cupboard every once in a while just to admire and shake the bottle! I started mine back in the spring to have ready for Christmas gifts. Recipients were intrigued and thrilled with such an unusual and useful gift. I will try more beans next time though, as it didn't seem as strong as it should have.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MrsFisher0729
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2011
Made this today...so easy! I can't wait to try it in three weeks! I used a medium size bottle of vodka and three beans. Update: I used my extract to make frosting. Yum! I plan to add more beans to make the flavor stronger.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsFisher0729

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jonesboro, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2011
One word: IndriVanilla! I got my vanilla beans from them really inexpensively. I did my vanilla extract in a combination of gold and spiced rum instead of vodka but followed the same method and it's amazing. I've been adding the empty pods after I scrape them and use them in other recipes, too, and the flavor is just getting better and better developed. So much better than storebought!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef W

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Logan, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2011
I started my extract a couple of months ago in preparation for Christmas gifts for my baker friends and family (I'm also making vanilla infused sugar for them as well). I decided to experiment with one bottle of Smirnoff Orange as well. I used the orange extract just last night in a custard recipe - and it was delicious! I can't wait to finish sampling all the other extracts I've made for my friends/family (want to make sure they taste yummy before I hand them out)! At first, I was a bit hesitant to make my own extracts/sugars because I thought the vanilla beans themselves were so expensive... but my friend told me to check eBay - and I buy the beans now by the 1/2 pound. Surprisingly less expensive and so far, they are excellent quality. :-) It's especially great if you're making a lot as gifts and need a lot of beans!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2011
I bought some vanilla beans on ebay, following the suggestion of other reviewers. I love using this. It is so much cheaper, and fun to be using something I made myself!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHEFJULIE1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boulder, Colorado, USA
Living In: Chesterfield, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2011
Super easy. Very inexpensive. Batch #2 is already in the works!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bedford, Ohio, USA
Living In: Solon, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2011
At four months, I can see that my extract is moving in the right direction. I think it will be great at six months but there is no way that I would have used it at three weeks. Time is this recipe's best friend and I would not try to rush it with the minimum time recommended.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by riz
Living In: Chapin, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Christine M
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2011
Used Stolichnaya vodka, 8 Madagascar beans and 4 Mexican vanilla beans, and as suggested in many reviews, I split them open before adding them to the bottle (Oh yeah, I realized as I was doing this that I had to remove about 1/4 cup of vodka so it wouldn't overflow after all the beans were added! Then I went here and clicked on CPA's review as being helpful!) I must say, the fragrance from the Mexican beans was unbelievably wonderful compared to the not-so-shabby but somewhat more "plain" Madagascar beans. It's only been 4 weeks, but my vanilla was brown within two weeks. Used a little for the first time in a coffee drink because I couldn't resist - great flavor! I'm still going to let this batch sit while I use up the other bottles I already had on hand, but I will use this method forever! Only changes will be to mix types of vanilla beans for a more layered flavor, split them first, and probably throw a couple more in than what was listed in the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine M

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hopedale, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Holden, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2011
Ok, it's been almost three months and I started to use my homemade vanilla this past week. I love it! It has a smooth rich taste that's much better than store bought. I split the beans lengthwise and used the least expensive vodka I could find. I currently have 2, one quart bottles and one gallon bottle "marinating". Because my taste always calls for more flavoring and spices in my recipes, I used about 12 beans for each quart and twice that much for the gallon bottle. What I'm using now is what was poured off before adding beans to the bottles and for that amount I used about 5 beans split lengthwise and cut in half. I still have plenty of beans left so I'm going to experiment with a bottle of bourbon and I will try a "better" vodka to see if there is truly a difference but, I am very satisfied with what I have thus far and I do a lot of baking. BTW, I am going to use the gallon bottle to make 2oz. bottles of vanilla to use as Christmas gifts for my family and friends who bake. Thanks so much for sharing this recipe. I will never have to buy store bought vanilla extract again. Homemade is sooooooo much better and over a period of time, cheaper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by msladygee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2011
Excellent! Economical! Purchased vanilla beans off of eBay; used Smirnoff vodka. Placed 10 split beans per 750ml bottle and let steep 3 months.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vanessa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 62) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Homemade Vanilla Extract

See how easy it is to make vanilla extract from scratch.

Vanilla Ice Cream V

This is pure, simple heaven: Vanilla ice cream with great flavor.

Homemade Taco Seasoning Mix

A simple taco seasoning mix that’s lower in salt than packaged mixes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States