Homemade Vanilla Extract Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2009
I have been complaining about the cost of store bought vanilla extract for years. No more complaining from me! It has been three months since i started my vanilla and it's sooo good! The beans can be expensive but i found them much cheaper if ordered online. I took the advise to strain some of the vanilla using a coffee filter and store in a small bottle while the rest of it continues to steep! I thought i would have 10 years worth of vanilla extract but my husband insists on taking a sip of it each day! I can't keep him out of it! I plan on making more and finding cute bottles to give away as gifts. I'm so glad i came across this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Dover, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2008
This is so unbelievably easy and so much cheaper than the store bought extract. Really didn't think it could be this easy. I don't get to bake as much as I would like, so I halved this recipe using 5 pods and a small bottle of vodka. Even better, the pods were on sale! My husband did not believe that this would work so kept checking the bottle every week to see how it was doing. And a friend wanted to drink it. Absolutely amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Louiselombard

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Westville, Kwazulu-Natal, South Africa

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2009
I have made vanilla extract this way for a number of years and it is SO WORTH it. As another review pointed out, what is better than knowing EXACTLY what you are putting into your and your family's bodies? Besides, most people just buy the imitation vanilla extract that is made from by-products of the paper and coal-tar industries! See under "imitation vanilla" at http://www.vanilla.com/html/facts-extracts.html It is also excellent to do this in a high-quality clear rum and use either the vodka or the rum in mixed drinks. It doesn't just have to be for cooking ;o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Las Cruces, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by DeniseM61
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2009
Great! Smell wonderful and way less expensive than store bought vanilla extract.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DeniseM61

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pinole, California, USA
Living In: Benicia, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2008
This is the best way to make your own vanilla extract! Don't buy those little expensive bottles in the grocery store. Make your own! So much cheaper. I bought twelve 8 inch long vanilla beans on ebay for 99 cents and had enough to share with everybody in my family! Just slice the bean, put it in the vodka and sit it in your cabinet. They say vanilla is a sexual aphrodisiac. I believe it, after a month, I uncorked the bottle to smell it and good lord, talk about a heavenly smell. Make your own, you will know what is in it, how fresh it is and it will make you feel good that you are making your own homemade products for your family. I will never go back to buying my own extract ever again. This was too easy and fun to do !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
83 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2009
I started making my own pure vanilla using this method. It's wonderful! I use only vodka (tried rum once, didn't care for the result). You can just cut the vanilla beans into thirds and slip them into the vodka; shake several times weekly and notice the color changing. As stated, the minimum time is weeks, but leave it as long as you can... months would be preferable. My guideline is once I can't smell the alcohol, it's pretty much ready. Homemade vanilla can take on a bit of a cloudy appearance, so don't be alarmed. You can strain a little of it at a time into a smaller bottle using a coffee filter, and let the rest hang out and get even stronger and better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
169 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2009
I just love how easy and delicious this vanilla is. I messed it up the first time, but wasn't sad with the results anyways.. instead of clear rum or vodka, i used the dark rum I had lying around, and used only a little bit of one vanilla pod (yes, i know, I'm cheap)... The greatest thing was that this was just an awesome drink, and I drank it all within a few weeks in my coffee, hot cocoa, warm milk, not to mention ice creams and cakes. So the main problem with the recipe is DON'T give into temptation... hide it away for a few months, and choose an alcohol that you won't be tempted to drink. Hahaha, the lessons you learn from one little recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2009
so far so good...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alyssa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2009
Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2009
Perfect! Definitely has stronger/better flavor as you let it sit. I've had some steeping for about a year now & its awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 62) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Homemade Vanilla Extract

See how easy it is to make vanilla extract from scratch.

Vanilla Ice Cream V

This is pure, simple heaven: Vanilla ice cream with great flavor.

Homemade Taco Seasoning Mix

A simple taco seasoning mix that’s lower in salt than packaged mixes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States