Homemade Twinkies® Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2011
I only used 4 oz cream cheese and 2 oz butter to 4 cups of icing sugar, I was concerned about it tasting too cheesy. I used 2 recipes of stabilized whipped cream for the Cool Whip. The Twinkies were good, very rich, the kids loved it. *Next time, 2 oz cream cheese, 2 oz butter and 2 1/2 cups icing sugar to 8 oz stabilized whipped cream, instead of 16 oz.*
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by the4taals

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Owen Sound, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2011
These are VERY good! It's been years since I've had a Twinkie but I thought the cake part was pretty darn close. The filling was a little too cream cheesey for us. As a matter of fact, my husband & son didn't even finish their pieces. My daughter & I loved them regardless. I'll be making them again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2011
The filling is very sweet but sooo good. I was wanting to make cupcakes so I only made half the amount of filling. I still had quite a bit left over and it is too sweet to frost the whole cupcake with. So I added the remainder of whipped topping to the left over filling and piped that on the cupcakes - perfect. I also used chocolate cake and chocolate pudding mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New Boston, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by kat
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2011
I made these for valentines day for my kids so I cut into heart shapes using a cookie cutter. They were very easy to make. and the filling is so yummy! I did cut the filling recipe in half as other reviewers said there was too much. I did still have some left over, but maybe next time I'll pipe more in. I will be making these again. I like the fact they held the cookie cutter shapes well! can't wait to try other shapes for different holidays! Thanks for a great recipe. I don't know who likes them more the adults or the kids!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
too much sugar
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2010
Okay...these are incredible! Only change I MADE was with the filling. Everyone raved over the filling ,,,use all listed ingredients EXEPT the cream cheese...Taste it before adding the cheese andI really think you will LOVE IT!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2010
The cake is my new favorite! I haven't tried the filling yet; just used the cake for cupcakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tracie Bacon

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2010
OMG! These were such a hit at my party!!! I wouldn't change a thing. You can freeze any unused filling and use it in other recipes later.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2010
MMMM! I just made these (as cupcakes) for my daughter's -year birthday party. I can't wait to serve these, they are so yummy. Better tasting than the original Twinkies, with all the nostalgia. I made a few changes to accomodate for cupcakes: lower oven temp (325) and longer time. As per others' suggestion, I halved the filling. But it was too sugary that way so I added all 8 oz of whip cream. I wanted filled cupcakes so I squirted the filling in each cakeI did not use to top the twinkie-cakes because I'm going to use decorating buttercream. There was plenty of filling left over so I'm freezing it for a rainy day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2010
So delicious and better than the real thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Homemade Twinkies

See how to make this classic snack cake from scratch!

Easy Homemade Chocolate Sauce

See how to make delicious homemade chocolate sauce.

Homemade Vanilla Pudding

See how to make rich, delectable vanilla pudding from scratch. It's simple!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States