Homemade Twinkies® Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2012
These were outstanding. I made them as cupcakes, taking a wedge out from the top, enlarging the hole a bit and filled it with the filling. I then sliced a bit off the bottom of the section of the top I removed. This made it fit back into the hole better. To make the cupcake more attractive, I made a cream cheese frosting flavored with lemon for the top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2012
Sorry, but these did not remind me of twinkles. They were okay, but nothing I would make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2012
What a hit!!! I haven't had a twinkie in years, I can't remember really how they taste. No need to buy and taste them with this recipe! Love it! Although, I did end up with way to much filling/frosting.....Thanks never the less!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookingGrama

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2011
Yum! This was delicious. It was even better frozen. My six kids ate this in no time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2011
I would have given 5 stars but filling was too sweet and even after cuttin in half as advised by others it was still too much, The cake was really great I used Strawberry cake mix and french vanilla pudding didn't have yellow cake mix on hand, it still came out good this is a keeper! also tastes better cold!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sunnyflower1177
Home Town: Benton Harbor, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2011
OH my are these fab!!! didn't change anything...I liked the fact that there is left over cream...because you can freeze it and use it for something else..Thank you for sharing!! I liked the idea for using it as a base for SS..great idea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2011
I only used 4 oz cream cheese and 2 oz butter to 4 cups of icing sugar, I was concerned about it tasting too cheesy. I used 2 recipes of stabilized whipped cream for the Cool Whip. The Twinkies were good, very rich, the kids loved it. *Next time, 2 oz cream cheese, 2 oz butter and 2 1/2 cups icing sugar to 8 oz stabilized whipped cream, instead of 16 oz.*
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by the4taals

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Owen Sound, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2011
These are VERY good! It's been years since I've had a Twinkie but I thought the cake part was pretty darn close. The filling was a little too cream cheesey for us. As a matter of fact, my husband & son didn't even finish their pieces. My daughter & I loved them regardless. I'll be making them again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2011
The filling is very sweet but sooo good. I was wanting to make cupcakes so I only made half the amount of filling. I still had quite a bit left over and it is too sweet to frost the whole cupcake with. So I added the remainder of whipped topping to the left over filling and piped that on the cupcakes - perfect. I also used chocolate cake and chocolate pudding mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New Boston, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by kat
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2011
I made these for valentines day for my kids so I cut into heart shapes using a cookie cutter. They were very easy to make. and the filling is so yummy! I did cut the filling recipe in half as other reviewers said there was too much. I did still have some left over, but maybe next time I'll pipe more in. I will be making these again. I like the fact they held the cookie cutter shapes well! can't wait to try other shapes for different holidays! Thanks for a great recipe. I don't know who likes them more the adults or the kids!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kat

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 11-20 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Homemade Twinkies

See how to make this classic snack cake from scratch!

Easy Homemade Chocolate Sauce

See how to make delicious homemade chocolate sauce.

Homemade Vanilla Pudding

See how to make rich, delectable vanilla pudding from scratch. It's simple!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States