Homemade Twinkies® Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Molly
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2015
This is a darn good dessert using a boxed cake mix. I read through the reviews and followed the filling review by 'the4taals' using 4oz. cream cheese, 1/4 cup butter, 4 c. powdered and I used 8 oz. whipped topping. I lined the cookie sheets with Pam® sprayed parchment paper that I could lift out rather than flour. Since the cake mixes are now smaller than the size listed in the recipe, I added 1/3 cup flour to the mix. Once baked and cooled I used all the filling, and trimmed the edges before cutting in rectangles. I flash froze them and then individually wrapped in plastic wrap. They will make a nice treat for lunches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2014
This was perfect. I found an actual hostess Twinkie maker so I needed a recipie to fill my new toy. This recipie made very good Twinkies. The only problem was with the piping bag. This icing did not go through the small, long tip very well. And with a big tip the Twinkies would sometimes tear. So maybe next time I will put less powderd sugar or some milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LYNNINMA
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2013
Since I baked these as pseudo "Twinkies" in a mini loaf pan (8 ct. - baked for 18 minutes) and "Sunny Doodles" cupcakes (12 - baked for 15 minutes), I wanted these to taste as close to Twinkies as possible, I took the advice of "troysgrl" and omitted the cream cheese in the filling completely. I also took the advice of others and cut the filling recipe in half. It was way more than enough (too much!) to fill 12 cupcakes and 8 Twinkie-like little loaves. The cake was spot on, though, and the filling delicious with the omission of the cream cheese. Do let these get cold in the refrigerator before eating. Thanks, Tyler, for a great base recipe. I will try other variations in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LYNNINMA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Worcester, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Leicester, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2012
These are very good. Next time, I'll cut the sugar by at least a cup or more. Just a bit too sweet. Agree with all who liked them frozen!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2012
We loved these. I made them as cupcakes and piped in the filling from the top with a little rosette of filling at the top and then sprinkled with red/green sugar for Christmas. I only used 1/2 the powdered sugar though and am very glad I did. They were perfect. They were good right away but a lot better the next day. Can't wait to try different flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2012
Wishing I could give this 10 stars...amazing! I made exactly as is, but I can see where other reviewers would cut back powdered sugar to maybe one cup. But still, as is, it was incredible. The cake alone was awesome.... I did one goof through, wasnt thinking and put in two loaf pans instead. Still turned out amazing~ stimply stacked loaf cakes and put a lot of filling in between- it was really really high, but was able to just slice thinner. Had leftover filling and decided to freeze it since EVERYONE has asked for this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Weaverville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2012
I plan on getting the canoe style muffin or cupcake pans. Then instead of cream cheese I will use a pudding recipe that I use for "Pistachio Cake" icing. Any flavor pudding will work I think.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Jacksonville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Alexandria, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2012
Delicious! Side note though, I only use 2 cups of powder sugar, not 5.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2012
I make this cake ofte. I make a homemade yellow cake mix instead of using a box cake. I recently made cupcakes for my daughter to take to school out of this reipe (used regular butter cream frosting for decorating) and the teacher emailed me to ask if she could have the recipe. If you make cupcakes you will get about 30. This recipe is excellent!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christopher Durkee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kissimmee, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2012
These were outstanding. I made them as cupcakes, taking a wedge out from the top, enlarging the hole a bit and filled it with the filling. I then sliced a bit off the bottom of the section of the top I removed. This made it fit back into the hole better. To make the cupcake more attractive, I made a cream cheese frosting flavored with lemon for the top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Homemade Twinkies

See how to make this classic snack cake from scratch!

Easy Homemade Chocolate Sauce

See how to make delicious homemade chocolate sauce.

Homemade Vanilla Pudding

See how to make rich, delectable vanilla pudding from scratch. It's simple!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States