Homemade Tomato Sauce II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2006
Very close to authentic Italian sauce, but you need to add lots of fresh basil and use ONLY olive oil. A tiny bit of sugar is needed to cut down the acidity.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
320 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA
Living In: Brownsburg, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2007
I make this sauce quite similar. The difference in mine is I use extra virgin olive oil,I'm guessing about 1/2 tablespoon of oregano, and I use a bay leaf instead of basil leaves. I also cut 2 carrots cut in half and just throw them in the sauce. That cuts down on the acidity without having to add sugar and then you can easily remove them. Sometimes we throw in a hot red pepper to give it some heat. This sauce is the traditional sauce my mom and sisters have cooked for years that we've all carried on from my Nonna and we're all Italian. Thanks for this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
305 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by GodivaGirl
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2008
I used extra virgin olive oil instead of vegetable oil. I also saute minced garlic, celery, onion and carrots in oil before adding the rest of the ingredients. I alway add a bay leaf while simmering (don't forget to remove before serving)! I use this sauce at least once a week. Somtimes I double the recipe and freeze what is left for the next dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
145 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GodivaGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Youngstown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2007
Wonderful recipe to make and then freeze for use in the winter. I make several batches and after thawed and heating, add cooked sausage, mushrooms, etc. Vegetable stands will usually sell you their seconds(some bruises on them) at a cheap price and work perfectly for the sauce. I also add salt and pepper, oregano and thyme after the first two hours. Also, a tsp of sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by doughok

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2003
Easy to make and a nice basic tomato sauce. The flavor was really nice, although I used dried basil and did add about 1/4 cup grated parmesan cheese. Also, used extra virgin olive oil instead of vegetable oil...better flavor. The only thing I would change next time is to add a little less water because I prefer a slightly thicker sauce. All in all, really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VD711

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Plano, Texas, USA
Living In: Batavia, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2008
This is the best tomato sauce I have ever tasted! It is very rich and tasty. For a more authentic taste, I added 3 tablespoons of balsamic vinegar and used olive oil as well. It was lovely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2007
I may just be spoiled by dining out and/or commercial sauces, but this recipe didn't do much for me. I used virgin olive oil, Tspn sugar, fresh crushed roma tomatos, fresh basil leaves(cut up), 1.75 water, white onion, fresh ground pepper, & salt substitute. Even adding parm cheese & italian seasoning only improved it some. But, as others have said, its EASY to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2001
This was a simple and easy recipe to use i added some crushed red peppers to add a little bite to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2007
I enjoyed this, but my boyfriend found it to be a bit bitter, so I added some sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maria

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hazleton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2008
After trying so many recipes I found great luck with this one. Light and delicious...thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 70) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Homemade Tomato Sauce I

Fresh homemade tomato sauce is easy and deeply flavorful.

Cherry Tomato Sauce with Penne

An incredibly quick-and-easy pasta sauce with toasted garlic & cherry tomatoes.

Chef John’s Tomato Sauce

See how Chef John makes his delicious, all-purpose tomato sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States