Homemade Tomato Sauce II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2008
Like the others, I used olive oil instead of vegetable oil, and I also added a tablespoon of sugar to cut the acidity. I added small, uncooked pieces of stew beef, and some uncooked meatballs that I threw together. I put the heat on extra low and let it cook for about 4 hours. The sauce was great. I think adding uncooked beef or sausage gives it an extra good flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tootie's mum

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2008
After trying so many recipes I found great luck with this one. Light and delicious...thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2008
This is the best tomato sauce I have ever tasted! It is very rich and tasty. For a more authentic taste, I added 3 tablespoons of balsamic vinegar and used olive oil as well. It was lovely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2008
used on top of meatballs and pasta with grated cheese and it was lovely
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2008
This sauce never fails. I do it almost every week and it is amazing how consistently good it remains. Follow the exact recipe with the same quantities and you are up to a very simple yet very delicious sauce. It is even better than what you usually get served in restaurants.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by GodivaGirl
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2008
I used extra virgin olive oil instead of vegetable oil. I also saute minced garlic, celery, onion and carrots in oil before adding the rest of the ingredients. I alway add a bay leaf while simmering (don't forget to remove before serving)! I use this sauce at least once a week. Somtimes I double the recipe and freeze what is left for the next dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
147 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GodivaGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Youngstown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2008
Very easy and tasty. I added fresh garlic and red pepper flakes for a little more kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2007
An excellent recipe, very easy to make and absolutely exquisite! We used extra virgin olive oil instead of the vegetable oil. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2007
I enjoyed this, but my boyfriend found it to be a bit bitter, so I added some sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maria

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hazleton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2007
Wonderful recipe to make and then freeze for use in the winter. I make several batches and after thawed and heating, add cooked sausage, mushrooms, etc. Vegetable stands will usually sell you their seconds(some bruises on them) at a cheap price and work perfectly for the sauce. I also add salt and pepper, oregano and thyme after the first two hours. Also, a tsp of sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by doughok

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 72) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Homemade Tomato Sauce I

Fresh homemade tomato sauce is easy and deeply flavorful.

Cherry Tomato Sauce with Penne

An incredibly quick-and-easy pasta sauce with toasted garlic & cherry tomatoes.

Chef John’s Tomato Sauce

See how Chef John makes his delicious, all-purpose tomato sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States