Homemade Tomato Sauce II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2009
Wonderful! I cooked mine with olive oil, a pound of beef, a couple of bay leaves, & Parmesan cheese. And I let it simmer in a slow cooker instead of on top of the stove. As soon as I added enough seasonings, it was just pperrfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2009
Very good sauce! I used all ingredients in the recipe and just added a tablespoon of oregano, 2 bay leaves, and a couple of carrots (for added sugar to cut acidity--took out at the end of cooking) and some red pepper flakes. The recipe is good just as it is though. I just felt like "playing" a little and was thrilled with the outcome. A definite keeper! Thank you so very much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2009
i was looking for a simple sauce to serve with meatballs for my picky family. this was super easy and they loved it. i'll never buy jar sauce again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2009
Very delicious sauce. This was my first attempt at making homemade sauce and this was the perfect recipe. I took the advice of previous reviewers and used EVOO instead of vegetable oil, and I added probably 2Tbs of sugar to cut down on the acidity, I actually might add a bit more. It was perfection. I can't wait to make some stuffed shells to use this with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Studio City, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2009
I really like this recipe. I also used olive oil in place of vegetable oil. It is definitely better than the recipe I had been using.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2008
Delicious! This recipe is great for a first time sauce maker. My Italian sorority sisters gave their seal of approval.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elizabeth, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2008
This was really easy to throw together and tasted great. I sauteed the garlic with the onion and added basil, oregano and a pinch of sugar. I also used 1/2 c. wine instead of some of the water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Jerusalem, Mehoz Yerushalayim, Israel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2008
Exactly what I was looking for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chamomille

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Newmarket, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2008
Like the others, I used olive oil instead of vegetable oil, and I also added a tablespoon of sugar to cut the acidity. I added small, uncooked pieces of stew beef, and some uncooked meatballs that I threw together. I put the heat on extra low and let it cook for about 4 hours. The sauce was great. I think adding uncooked beef or sausage gives it an extra good flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tootie's mum

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2008
After trying so many recipes I found great luck with this one. Light and delicious...thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 70) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Homemade Tomato Sauce I

Fresh homemade tomato sauce is easy and deeply flavorful.

Cherry Tomato Sauce with Penne

An incredibly quick-and-easy pasta sauce with toasted garlic & cherry tomatoes.

Chef John’s Tomato Sauce

See how Chef John makes his delicious, all-purpose tomato sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States