Homemade Tomato Sauce II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2012
I cooked for hours and hours on low and it was think and tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2012
I made this yesterday and was going to rate it four stars. I served it over thin spaghetti and it was very good. Today I took the leftover sauce, "smoothed" it in the processor, and served it over cheese ravioli. WOW! The flavors blended overnight, and the slight bite of the black pepper was even better than my favorite Italian restaurant. My grandmother was northern Italian and grandfather was southern Italian, so I grew up with Italian cooking. Definitely the key to this sauce is using fresh basil and fresh garlic and yes, I altered the recipe and used olive oil. Easy, simple, delicious! Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by arctic200

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Holden, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Rockville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2011
Excellent recipe. Substituted beef broth for the water, also added fresh tyme.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Flyrod

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Thunder Bay, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2011
This was very good. I don't eat meat so I needed a sauce that didn't use any bacon, pork, beef or chicken. I followed a tip offered in one of the other reviews and added 2 peeled and split carrots. This did cut the acidity. I might throw in a pinch of sugar but only because I like my sauce a little on the sweet side. I substituted 2 tbsp of olive oil for the vegetable oil. Thanks Mirella Cina this will be my sauce for life.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2011
This recipe is delicious exactly as written. I make it almost weekly during the winter. The sauce also makes a great base for additions. I especially enjoy adding hot italian sausage. Mmm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2011
too much pepper although i did forget to add the water so i'll try again again and keep updated cause otherwise very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2011
I didn't add tomatoes because I hate them. I used tomato paste only. And I use olive oil rather than vegetable oil. Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2010
I've always wanted to make my own and this was really good sauce. My husband said it tastes so good, his Italian father (who has always made his gravy from scratch) would be proud. I did tweak it as suggested by Prendila, carrots, oregano and bay. Will definitely use this again, maybe adding sausage or meatballs for other flavors. Thanks!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Caldwell, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2010
Nice flavor. Too thin
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2010
Very good basic recipe that can be altered to suit your tastes. I used only 1.5 cups water, which made it the perfect consistency for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SilverNBlack

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 11-20 (of 69) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Homemade Tomato Sauce I

Fresh homemade tomato sauce is easy and deeply flavorful.

Cherry Tomato Sauce with Penne

An incredibly quick-and-easy pasta sauce with toasted garlic & cherry tomatoes.

Chef John’s Tomato Sauce

See how Chef John makes his delicious, all-purpose tomato sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States