Homemade Tomato Sauce II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2014
It took me a couple of tries to get this right. I use 4 cloves of garlic instead of 2, omit the tomato paste and only use about 1/4 cup of water. I also use dried basil instead of fresh basil. This sauce has become a normal dinner dish in my house with a few tweeks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2014
Made this the other day and used it for a salsa recipe. Excellent but time consuming but well worth it! Thank you for sharing it and will do it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2014
Full rich bodied flavour, love it. I did as other readers suggested and added oregano, cut down the water to 1.5 cups, added a carrot to cut down acidity and added 1/4 tsp red pepper flakes. I didn't have fresh basil so I used 1 tbsp. dried. Didn't have any celery so I used 1/8 tsp celery seed. Awesome sauce. Thank you for sharing!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2013
I liked it. Was in the mood for a new sauce and wanted it smooth, so after sautéing the onions and garlic (in olive oil), I threw them in the blender and back in the pan. I also pureed the tomatoes before throwing them in with the onions. I agree with others that it needed sugar and a lot more basil. I also added a splash of balsamic and some sugar. Came out great. 4 stars because of the needed modifications, but it really was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2013
Delicious sauce and very easy. I was surprised to find it had a lot of flavor. I used olive oil instead of vegetable, but followed the recipe exactly otherwise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2013
Made it this morning to use in a chili recipe later today. Realized I was out of canned sauce and didn't want to drive to the grocery store. Figured my grandmother didn't have that luxury, so I got innovative. Fortunately I had most of the ingredients listed here ... and the Internet! I took the suggestion of adding 2 carrots instead of sugar, and a dried bay leaf in place of fresh basil. Excellent results. Will make again if needed. Fortunately this happened over a weekend, as I might have passed during the work week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2012
I love this sauce. It is super easy and all the ingredients blend nicely together. I'm fairly picky about tomato sauce and I've never been able to find a recipe I truly like until now. My husband and kids love it too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2012
I used a couple of tips from other reviewers: used olive oil, added a bay leaf while cooking, added two carrots cut in half while cooking, used a bit less water. Turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by binza

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2012
This sauce is a snap to prepare and tastes great. I added a little sugar and oregano. I simmered it for about an hour, but would have cooked it even longer if I hadn't been so hungry. The recipe made plenty of sauce for my family of five. I'm sure it will be even better tomorrow! I used it to top Three Cheese Manicotti.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MAMALEIGH

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2012
I love to make this sauce it's easy an great taste just like my grandmother's.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 71) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Homemade Tomato Sauce I

Fresh homemade tomato sauce is easy and deeply flavorful.

Cherry Tomato Sauce with Penne

An incredibly quick-and-easy pasta sauce with toasted garlic & cherry tomatoes.

Chef John’s Tomato Sauce

See how Chef John makes his delicious, all-purpose tomato sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States