Homemade Tomato Sauce I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 30, 2015
I Will never buy store bought spaghetti sauce again. What I did different is I used 2 onions instead of 1,Jarred minced garlic instead of fresh, I used three bay leaves instead of 1, I used dried parsley, dried oregano ,some Creole seasoning ,and some basic Italian seasonings that I had in the spine cabinet.I didn't have any dry wine but I did use cupcake brand Moscato 6 ounces to be exact, since I was short four tomatoes i used a full 6oz can of tomato paste. No matter how good this is going to smell while it's cooking give it all the time it needs. Start out by bringing it to a boil and then bring it to the absolutly lowest low that you can without losing heat cover it and let it go for 3 hours. Stir it once an hour just to make sure that you don't burn it. Im going to make more and freeze it in ziploc bags.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2015
It does take time but is excellent. I added oregano and garlic salt to taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Richard Morey

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2014
I have tried several times and each time comes out better. I make a big batch and save it for later use.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Easton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2014
Definitely too many vegetables. I used half of all the veggies except tomatoes and carrots. I should have halved the carrots also. The sauce is orange and tastes like carrots. I had to add a 15 ounce can of tomato sauce to cut the carrot taste and salt. Very bland. Not sure if I'd try this particular one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2014
Yes I made. This and it was the best tomato sauce that I made . I would double it to have more saved
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2014
This was really delicious sauce. I was low on time, so I simmered it for an hour, added homemade meatballs (that had been browned), and let them cook in the simmering sauce for 2 hours. I added about 2 tsp sugar and about 4 tsp. mixed salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2014
I loved this because there's no sugar and it tastes great! My husband hates red sauce but he loved this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SamSBD

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2014
Good recipe. Only thing I did different was I used a Victoria strainer to do my tomatoes. I then put all the pulp and juice in a zippered pillow cloth and hang it to drain for several hours. Believe it or not the only thing that drains out is a greenish tinted water. Cuts cooking time in half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2014
Nice recipe but the fun is adding the extras at the end like pesto, parmesan, fresh chopped basil etc! Beef! Turkey! Sausages. Its always good to refer to a base recipe like this. My husband ate it all week and thinks I took cooking lessons! I'll take it! :) Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2014
I used the basic recipe used 16 various types of tomatoes, 8 big cloves of garlic fresh herbs plus two fresh Jalapenos,BAM! our family loves a little blast to there sauce! What a Great way to use up the tomatoes when there coming to fast for salads and such... As for the time it takes the rewards of not buying premade sauce is Well worth it! Enjoy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tim Salter

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 200) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Homemade Tomato Sauce I

Fresh homemade tomato sauce is easy and deeply flavorful.

Cherry Tomato Sauce with Penne

An incredibly quick-and-easy pasta sauce with toasted garlic & cherry tomatoes.

Chef John’s Tomato Sauce

See how Chef John makes his delicious, all-purpose tomato sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States