Homemade Tomato Basil Pasta Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by LilSnoo
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2015
This sauce was fantastic and tasted like summer! I have my usual family recipe that's been around for years that I normally make, and it's quite hearty filled with tons of veggies and meat, but this was a nice change of pace. I made it exactly as written and would only suggest maybe adding a pinch of sugar. For the tomatoes I used 8 Roma Tomatoes - these are naturally sweeter, have fewer seeds and hold up really well in sauces. I see others have suggested red wine instead of the water - this would work well too if you have it, and I might try that next time if I have a bottle open. I don't understand the reviews saying this is "too salty", when the recipe clearly states you are to add salt "TO TASTE". If it's too salty, then that's your own fault. Taste as you cook. Also, since this is a quick sauce, the flour thickens it, instead of simmering it for hours to thicken. Yes, the texture might be a little better without the flour, but for the short cooking time, it has its purpose. I found the sauce to be very flavorful and I wish I had made more. The servings sizes are a little small - I found this made 4 side servings. If you are looking for a main entree, then this would make 2 servings. This is a perfect way to use up all that crazy, out of control basil that's growing in my garden. A nice chunky sauce that you can blend up a bit if you prefer a smoother consistency. Thank you Kayleigh for sharing your recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LilSnoo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Terrace Bay, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Aurora, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2015
Just made this for dinner. I really don't believe in changing the original recipe because once you change the recipe given, it's not truly an authentic rating. With this said, I followed one review that suggested red wine instead of the water. What a difference!!! Much more flavorful than the water. I saved my family of 5 and this wasn't quite enough sauce. Next time, I will double! I also used Roma tomatoes and tomatoes on a vine. This recipe is delicious and I will definitely make again :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2014
Excellent!! Had this sauce over grilled chicken parmesan and pasta. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by April
Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by glenna
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2014
Had this for dinner. I did add mussels to it and it was really delicious. Thank you for this recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2014
Made this last night and it was delicious. Coats the pasta evenly. Came out a little salty for my taste so next time will only use the garlic salt and omit adding regular salt too. Will trying subbing water for red wine next time as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2014
So easy and delicious! I don't think I ever want to go back to canned sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2014
Added a bit extra garlic as well as ground beef and Italian seasoning. Was great! Had fresh lemon basil from the garden.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2014
This was delicious!! I added a little italian seasoning and red pepper flakes (cause we love spicy) and used red wine instead of water. YUM! My hubby wished it was a little thicker, but overall great flavor, easy, and fast! Will definitely make again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lauren Nickerson

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Thornton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2014
try putting the flour and water into a container with a lid- and shaking to dissolve and then add to sauce. this will prevent any lumps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2014
This was ahh-mazing!! I did change it a bit! First I didn't have as many tomatoes as needed so I used a can of crushed tomatoes and one regular tomato. I also added chopped garlic and onions in the beginning with the tomatoes. I did everything as stated but didn't have fresh basil on hand so used 4 teaspoons dried (as mentioned by another user)! I also added the flour and didn't feel the need for the water! It was seriously so delish that my roommates raved, and I couldn't stop eating!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 67) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Homemade Tomato Sauce I

Fresh homemade tomato sauce is easy and deeply flavorful.

Tomato-Cream Sauce for Pasta

See how to make a quick, creamy, rave-worthy tomato sauce.

Cherry Tomato Sauce with Penne

An incredibly quick-and-easy pasta sauce with toasted garlic & cherry tomatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States