Homemade Tomato Basil Pasta Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2014
This was ahh-mazing!! I did change it a bit! First I didn't have as many tomatoes as needed so I used a can of crushed tomatoes and one regular tomato. I also added chopped garlic and onions in the beginning with the tomatoes. I did everything as stated but didn't have fresh basil on hand so used 4 teaspoons dried (as mentioned by another user)! I also added the flour and didn't feel the need for the water! It was seriously so delish that my roommates raved, and I couldn't stop eating!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2014
Not a bad dish, but for sure will not make 4 serving. More like 2.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2013
This was wonderful....used the last of my garden tomatoes, added an extra clove of garlic, and decided to add ground beef (lean)...will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bangor, Maine, USA
Living In: Belmont, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2013
Easy and delicious. Quick and used all my tomatoes that were getting soft, also added a green bell pepper and a lot of black pepper, tossed with GF pasta. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by veggiemama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Santa Cruz, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2013
This was an awesome basic recipe. I didn't use flour, added extra water, used dried basil and a couple other spices and simmered it a lot longer so the flavor was better. Added a little parmesan cheese, sour cream, half & half and made it a creamy tomato meat sauce to go over blanched butternut squash instead of noodles for a healthier dish. It was awesome and the hubbs actually liked it...he does NOT like tomato sauces. Did make a small batch of noodles for the kiddo to eat and she devoured it as well. Will definitely make this again. A+ in my book!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by blueyedbrea

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jonesboro, Arkansas, USA
Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2013
Very simple, quick and easy. This is not going to be a thick, smooth sauce like the jars in the store, but a fresh, chunky sauce. I like other sauces better, I must admit, but this is a good way to use up tomatoes (I had 4 beefsteak tomatoes to use up) and is pretty tasty. I left out the water--in my experience, tomatoes are watery enough--and just used olive oil to coat the bottom of the pan. Served over mini penne and had a nice, quick, filling lunch with salad. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2013
We enjoyed this and will make it again this summer when our homegrown tomatoes are ready.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2012
This was a nice, basic red sauce that clings to the noodles so every bite is full of flavor. Lots of potential here - I'll keep this in my recipe box and tweak to my personal tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mrs.embee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Iowa City, Iowa, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2012
The whole family loved this recipe. At the end I added a half an onion, some chopped mushrooms, and tripled the amount of garlic the recipe called for, but I tasted it before that and thought it was delicious then too. So much better than store-bought. I will make this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cheffster
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2012
Oh yes!! Oh very much yes!! When I make this again I hope to have at least 3 times as many roma tomatoes from the garden (I had them ripening after picking for a couple days but still had to add two large beefsteaks.) I used half red wine / half water and thickened with both flour and parmesan cheese. This is among my very favorite pasta sauces!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheffster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Plymouth, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 58) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Homemade Tomato Sauce I

Fresh homemade tomato sauce is easy and deeply flavorful.

Pasta with Fresh Tomato Sauce

This delicious pasta dish comes together in just minutes.

Tomato-Cream Sauce for Pasta

See how to make a quick, creamy, rave-worthy tomato sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States