Homemade Tomato Basil Pasta Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2014
Made this last night and it was delicious. Coats the pasta evenly. Came out a little salty for my taste so next time will only use the garlic salt and omit adding regular salt too. Will trying subbing water for red wine next time as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2014
So easy and delicious! I don't think I ever want to go back to canned sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2014
Added a bit extra garlic as well as ground beef and Italian seasoning. Was great! Had fresh lemon basil from the garden.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2014
This was delicious!! I added a little italian seasoning and red pepper flakes (cause we love spicy) and used red wine instead of water. YUM! My hubby wished it was a little thicker, but overall great flavor, easy, and fast! Will definitely make again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Thornton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2014
try putting the flour and water into a container with a lid- and shaking to dissolve and then add to sauce. this will prevent any lumps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2014
This was ahh-mazing!! I did change it a bit! First I didn't have as many tomatoes as needed so I used a can of crushed tomatoes and one regular tomato. I also added chopped garlic and onions in the beginning with the tomatoes. I did everything as stated but didn't have fresh basil on hand so used 4 teaspoons dried (as mentioned by another user)! I also added the flour and didn't feel the need for the water! It was seriously so delish that my roommates raved, and I couldn't stop eating!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2014
Not a bad dish, but for sure will not make 4 serving. More like 2.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2013
This was wonderful....used the last of my garden tomatoes, added an extra clove of garlic, and decided to add ground beef (lean)...will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bangor, Maine, USA
Living In: Belmont, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2013
Easy and delicious. Quick and used all my tomatoes that were getting soft, also added a green bell pepper and a lot of black pepper, tossed with GF pasta. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by veggiemama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Santa Cruz, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2013
This was an awesome basic recipe. I didn't use flour, added extra water, used dried basil and a couple other spices and simmered it a lot longer so the flavor was better. Added a little parmesan cheese, sour cream, half & half and made it a creamy tomato meat sauce to go over blanched butternut squash instead of noodles for a healthier dish. It was awesome and the hubbs actually liked it...he does NOT like tomato sauces. Did make a small batch of noodles for the kiddo to eat and she devoured it as well. Will definitely make this again. A+ in my book!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by blueyedbrea

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jonesboro, Arkansas, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 63) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Homemade Tomato Sauce I

Fresh homemade tomato sauce is easy and deeply flavorful.

Tomato-Cream Sauce for Pasta

See how to make a quick, creamy, rave-worthy tomato sauce.

Cherry Tomato Sauce with Penne

An incredibly quick-and-easy pasta sauce with toasted garlic & cherry tomatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States