Homemade Tomato Basil Pasta Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2010
Excellent basic sauce recipe. Easy to prepare great flavor. Substituted red wine for the water. This sauce is full of flavor and coats the pasta evenly. Will be adding this one to the regular rotation. You should definitely try this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
110 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2010
Delicious! I was concerned at first, but it turned out lovely. Here's some hints I found useful: if using dried instead of fresh basil, use only four teaspoons. I also found that I didn't need the 1/4 cup water, and added used two tablespoons whole wheat flour rather than one all purpose. Also, you can just use a 28 oz can of diced tomatoes, and if you want to save some calories, only use one teaspoon margarine rather than a tablespoon butter, and omit the oil. It will still taste great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
71 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2010
This really was a fantastic and simple recipe. I love that I can make it using all-natural ingredients. I didn't have any small tomatoes, so I used 4 large ones instead, and it still turned out great. I also had some ready-to-serve portobello mushroom Italian sausage in my fridge, so I threw that in there. This was my first attempt at making homemade pasta sauce and I will definitely be doing this again. Really and truly amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2010
This is a wonderfully easy, quick sauce. We didn't have fresh tomatoes on hand, but two cans of diced tomatoes worked just fine. It was so delicious, the man of the house did the dishes. Any recipe that can get him to wash dishes deserves all five stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2011
This was a great, light sauce! Don't expect that all day simmering thick sauce, this is just a perfect fresh easy way to use up your garden veggies. We had it with ricotta ravioli and salad for a fast and delightfully homemade Friday night dinner. Thanks! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lapeer, Michigan, USA
Living In: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2010
Wow! This sauce was amazing. My husband I made this with fresh tomatoes and basil. Mmmm! We will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2012
This was just ok for me. It tasted very basil-y when I tasted just the sauce, but once mixed with pasta it seemed to have no flavour at all. I also added some wine. It didn't say anywhere (nor in the reviews I read) that the tomatoes should be peeled, but I would have much preferred it that way; that's just a personal preference thing though I guess. I also wish I'd taken my hand blender to it so that it would be more 'saucy' instead of chunky, but again that's my preference. This was very quick and simple though, so I would try it again with additional/different seasonings. One last comment, maybe I just like my pasta particularly saucy but this wasn't even close to 4 servings for me. Make more if you have a big family or want some extra to freeze. Thanks for the recipe though, it was a good start for me for making my first made-from-fresh-tomatoes sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alex

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kanata, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2010
Loved it! It was nice to find a tomato sauce that didn't have sugar in it but still didn't have a bitter taste. Made this with home grown tomatoes and basil. Loved it's freshness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tammy LaPorta Rainwater

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bel Air, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2012
This was a great recipe. Made a very small amount so, I added an additional can of diced toms and more spices. I also sauteed the garlic and some diced onion with the tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burbank, California, USA
Living In: Lompoc, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2010
Yummy! So easy and so much better than store bought. I didn’t have fresh tomatoes so I used two cans of diced tomatoes per another suggestion. I also added oregano, Italian seasoning, additional garlic, and a few dashes of cayenne for a bit of kick. Blended it with the stick blender to smooth it out and voilà…delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 66) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Homemade Tomato Sauce I

Fresh homemade tomato sauce is easy and deeply flavorful.

Tomato-Cream Sauce for Pasta

See how to make a quick, creamy, rave-worthy tomato sauce.

Cherry Tomato Sauce with Penne

An incredibly quick-and-easy pasta sauce with toasted garlic & cherry tomatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States