Homemade Tomato Basil Pasta Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2010
This really was a fantastic and simple recipe. I love that I can make it using all-natural ingredients. I didn't have any small tomatoes, so I used 4 large ones instead, and it still turned out great. I also had some ready-to-serve portobello mushroom Italian sausage in my fridge, so I threw that in there. This was my first attempt at making homemade pasta sauce and I will definitely be doing this again. Really and truly amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2010
Good, relatively easy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2010
I am just getting the hang of cooking and wanted to make my own sauce. This is soooo easy. I made it pretty much like it reads... Probably had too much tomato, but it's tomato sauce, so wasn't worried. Didn't have fresh basil, so dry was fine. Also I found that a splash of lemon juice made it tangy... but that's how I like it. Made it with eggplant meatballs over some noodles. Oh yeah!! Thanks for the recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2010
Excellent basic sauce recipe. Easy to prepare great flavor. Substituted red wine for the water. This sauce is full of flavor and coats the pasta evenly. Will be adding this one to the regular rotation. You should definitely try this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
105 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2010
Yummers! Added a lot more garlic, and black garlic and substituted the water for red wine. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2010
This is awesome! I ran out of olive oil, so I used walnut oil instead, and it still tasted fantastic! I don't think I would call it 4 servings if you are a fan of tons of pasta sauce on your pasta, but it is sooo worth making it rather than buying it in a jar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aahcoffee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2010
excellent sauce, great way to use your garden produce. truly enjoyed this
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Shelton, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2010
Wow! This sauce was amazing. My husband I made this with fresh tomatoes and basil. Mmmm! We will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2010
Loved it! It was nice to find a tomato sauce that didn't have sugar in it but still didn't have a bitter taste. Made this with home grown tomatoes and basil. Loved it's freshness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mason&MitchellsMom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bel Air, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2010
This is a wonderfully easy, quick sauce. We didn't have fresh tomatoes on hand, but two cans of diced tomatoes worked just fine. It was so delicious, the man of the house did the dishes. Any recipe that can get him to wash dishes deserves all five stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 63) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Homemade Tomato Sauce I

Fresh homemade tomato sauce is easy and deeply flavorful.

Tomato-Cream Sauce for Pasta

See how to make a quick, creamy, rave-worthy tomato sauce.

Cherry Tomato Sauce with Penne

An incredibly quick-and-easy pasta sauce with toasted garlic & cherry tomatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States