Homemade Tomato Basil Pasta Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2010
Yummy! So easy and so much better than store bought. I didn’t have fresh tomatoes so I used two cans of diced tomatoes per another suggestion. I also added oregano, Italian seasoning, additional garlic, and a few dashes of cayenne for a bit of kick. Blended it with the stick blender to smooth it out and voilà…delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2010
Delicious! I was concerned at first, but it turned out lovely. Here's some hints I found useful: if using dried instead of fresh basil, use only four teaspoons. I also found that I didn't need the 1/4 cup water, and added used two tablespoons whole wheat flour rather than one all purpose. Also, you can just use a 28 oz can of diced tomatoes, and if you want to save some calories, only use one teaspoon margarine rather than a tablespoon butter, and omit the oil. It will still taste great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
67 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2010
Easy and delicious all with whole ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sonia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Torrance, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2010
Wonderful and easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lau MR

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Wellington , Wellington, New Zealand

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2010
Fantastic and easy! This sauce w/ spaghetti makes a great vegetarian meal. Very fresh.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2010
The flavor is just amazing. My husband can't get enough!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2010
Very easy to make and it tasted great! I used canned tomatoes since I had some extra on hand and they worked out perfectly. I will definitely use this recipe in the future!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Akron, Ohio, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2010
this was delicous and easy to make! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2010
absolutely fabulous!!!! This was my first time making homemade tomato sauce, very easy recipe.I used garden fresh tomatos. I also added sauted onions with a little bit of celery seed, and red wine instead of water. definately will add this to my recipes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2010
This was fabulous and the perfect summer gravy recipe. Fresh tomatoes and fresh basil make this light and tasty whether served over pasta or spaghetti squash. If you grow nothing else in your garden, this recipe is worth growing plum tomatoes and basil for!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sturbridge, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Londonderry, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 63) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Homemade Tomato Sauce I

Fresh homemade tomato sauce is easy and deeply flavorful.

Tomato-Cream Sauce for Pasta

See how to make a quick, creamy, rave-worthy tomato sauce.

Cherry Tomato Sauce with Penne

An incredibly quick-and-easy pasta sauce with toasted garlic & cherry tomatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States