Homemade Tomato Basil Pasta Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2011
This was a hit! I made it with some friends, and it was so delicious and authentic to gorge on afterward! I didn't have garlic salt, but it turned out fine. I would still add it if you have it to make it better. I included a little extra butter and basil because I do love those two things. I added probably 1/3 cup basil, and I sprinkled the pepper liberally according to my taste. I have never had a fresher sauce in such a long time! Wonderful recipe that I'll enjoy using over again. :) I also suggest adding a vegetable or two with the pasta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2011
yum! fast and easy. we added 1/2 box of large mushrooms. the fresh basil really makes a difference!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ladysmith, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2011
Really, Really good!!! It was much easier to make than I imagined homemade pasta sauce would be. I am never buying Ragu again. I did omit the olive oil and used 4 tsp. dried basil. I also threw in a bell pepper that I had from the garden. So good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carrie Beth Keck

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2011
Fresh tomatoes and garlic from the garden, this is a keeper. I doubled the recipe since it sounded good. It looked like a little too much garlic salt, so I split it to be half garlic salt and half galic powder. Next time I will probably go with other suggestions and experiment.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2011
This sauce was simple and delicious! I added some dried oregano and a few tablespoons of tomato sauce just to add some more flavour and this sauce was an instant hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2011
Instead of using fresh tomatoes, I used diced tomatoes because that's what I had on hand. The sauce was delicious over a bed of pasta! Perfectly seasoned and creamy. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springboro, Ohio, USA
Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2011
UPDATE JUNE 22, 2011: I made this sauce again for lunch without the flour and water and it was delicious. My 2 and 3 year old boys devoured their pasta and had second helpings. This makes for a great quick sauce that can be cooked up as the pasta is cooking. JUNE 20, 2011: I would like to give this sauce more points but I feel that it only deserves 3 points. After adding the flour, it made the tomato sauce really pasty and gooey. The preferred method to thicken up tomato sauce is to let it reduce rapidly over high heat, or slowly over medium/low heat, to the desired consistancy. This sauce is perfect without the addition of flour and water at the end. The other change I made was adding garlic powder and salt to taste because I had no garlic salt. I will make this again but omiting the flour and water at the end. Just add the minced garlic along with the olive oil and basil and cook accordingly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hamburg, Hamburg, Germany
Reviewed: May 23, 2011
One of the best and certainly the fastest dishes I have made in a while. Garlic and fresh tomatoes sets this dish right and everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by John Ogea

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Anahuac, Texas, USA
Living In: Tomball, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2011
Wow. Soooooo good. Soooooo easy. I will be making more next time for leftovers. Yum, yum, yum. I only had 6 ripe roma tomatoes on hand, so I added a can of diced tomatoes and poured the rest of my cabernet sauvigion into the pan after the water, a couple more cloves of garlic, lots o fresh chopped basil....voila....restaurant-quality tomato basil sauce. YOU GOTTA MAKE THIS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2011
Did not like this sauce at all, save your time and look for another one. Sauce in a jar was much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 65) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Homemade Tomato Sauce I

Fresh homemade tomato sauce is easy and deeply flavorful.

Tomato-Cream Sauce for Pasta

See how to make a quick, creamy, rave-worthy tomato sauce.

Cherry Tomato Sauce with Penne

An incredibly quick-and-easy pasta sauce with toasted garlic & cherry tomatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States