Homemade Tomato Basil Pasta Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2012
This recipe was simple and delicious and the perfect way to use up the tomatoes from my garden. I followed the recipe with the exception of the water. I used white wine instead and it came out very tasty. I also sauteed about 4 cloves of minced garlic in the butter, then added the tomatoes. I also added sea salt and a little sugar instead of the garlic salt. I can't want to make this again, next time with more tomatoes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2012
This was just ok for me. It tasted very basil-y when I tasted just the sauce, but once mixed with pasta it seemed to have no flavour at all. I also added some wine. It didn't say anywhere (nor in the reviews I read) that the tomatoes should be peeled, but I would have much preferred it that way; that's just a personal preference thing though I guess. I also wish I'd taken my hand blender to it so that it would be more 'saucy' instead of chunky, but again that's my preference. This was very quick and simple though, so I would try it again with additional/different seasonings. One last comment, maybe I just like my pasta particularly saucy but this wasn't even close to 4 servings for me. Make more if you have a big family or want some extra to freeze. Thanks for the recipe though, it was a good start for me for making my first made-from-fresh-tomatoes sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alex

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kanata, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2012
This was a great recipe. Like others said is was an amazing base. My husband and son commented all through the meal how good it tasted and smelled. Based on other reviewers below are all the tweaks I did. I used 4 tsp of dried basil but would recommend using fresh when possible. I use red wine instead of water. Yum! I increased the garlic to 4 cloves and added a tsp of ground peppercorn and 1 tsp of Italian seasoning. I didn't have garlic salt so I used sea salt. It is nice to add a 1/2 can of tomaoto paste (I've tried both ways) , it is ok either way. I tried a 1/2 tsp of lemon juice and a dash of cayenne for zip..not there yet but getting there. I normally add 3/4 to 1 lbs ground beef and used 4-5 large tomato instead of 8 small tomatoes but following the current recipe make a meal that barely fed 3 adults . Other than wanting more and having to scrape the pot this is a great receipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dawn G

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 2, 2012
This sauce is amazing. I added chopped onion and a teaspoon of Knorr chicken flavor. Yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2012
I just happen to stumble across this recipe because I had fresh tomatoes that I needed to use before they went bad and I sure am glad I found this. I had 3 red vine tomatoes, and I used a 1/2 a can of diced tomatoes w/the juice and added another 1/2 tbsp flour. I also added a can of mushrooms, 2 garlic cloves, and i used 1 tbsp of dry basil. Fabulous!! Had it with lean hot italian sausage links and garlic bread. Next time I would double the recipe for leftovers. This only fed 2 people. This was super good!! BF said before trying it "this is not enough sauce" I said, "just try it". Come to find out he was amazed with it and said it was the perfect amount of sauce and has requested me to make this more often! Def. a keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA
Living In: Henderson, Nevada, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2012
Great recipe. I used a bit more olive oil because I live the taste of it. My husband and I visited Italy a few months ago and this is how my family who lives there makes their sauce. In America, we oversauce pasta...this is a light, tasty way of eating pasta with sauce. Use some great olive oil and this makes a fantastic, authentic Italian sauce. I will definitely use this recipe again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2011
I used this as a base for a sauce I created for a low-iodine diet I have to do for a battle with thyroid cancer. You really only need to substitute a couple things: the butter for margarine or a little more olive oil the garlic salt for plain garlic powder the salt for un-iodized table salt When I got the sauce done, I sauteed some chopped green peppers, onions and mushrooms in olive oil. I then cooked up some ground beef and made quite a hearty sauce! All the basil and garlic makes this a great recipe unaltered or one to play around with. I think it would be great with shrimp- but not on the low-iodide diet! :) All in all very tasty and EASY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2011
For a first-time sauce maker (me) this was an excellent starter recipe. I did deviate a bit based on our tastes- doubled the fresh basil, doubled the minced garlic, added onion and oregano (about 2 tsp dried) and used sea salt instead of garlic salt. After cooking, I pureed it - also added a pinch of sugar. So while I changed it quite a bit- this was an excellent base and quick to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2011
This was a great, light sauce! Don't expect that all day simmering thick sauce, this is just a perfect fresh easy way to use up your garden veggies. We had it with ricotta ravioli and salad for a fast and delightfully homemade Friday night dinner. Thanks! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lapeer, Michigan, USA
Living In: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2011
Amazing simple and delightful. I didn't even need to add water, there were no clumps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Oak Forest, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 65) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Homemade Tomato Sauce I

Fresh homemade tomato sauce is easy and deeply flavorful.

Tomato-Cream Sauce for Pasta

See how to make a quick, creamy, rave-worthy tomato sauce.

Cherry Tomato Sauce with Penne

An incredibly quick-and-easy pasta sauce with toasted garlic & cherry tomatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States