Homemade Tomato Basil Pasta Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2013
Easy and delicious. Quick and used all my tomatoes that were getting soft, also added a green bell pepper and a lot of black pepper, tossed with GF pasta. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by veggiemama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Santa Cruz, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2013
This was an awesome basic recipe. I didn't use flour, added extra water, used dried basil and a couple other spices and simmered it a lot longer so the flavor was better. Added a little parmesan cheese, sour cream, half & half and made it a creamy tomato meat sauce to go over blanched butternut squash instead of noodles for a healthier dish. It was awesome and the hubbs actually liked it...he does NOT like tomato sauces. Did make a small batch of noodles for the kiddo to eat and she devoured it as well. Will definitely make this again. A+ in my book!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by blueyedbrea

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jonesboro, Arkansas, USA
Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2013
Very simple, quick and easy. This is not going to be a thick, smooth sauce like the jars in the store, but a fresh, chunky sauce. I like other sauces better, I must admit, but this is a good way to use up tomatoes (I had 4 beefsteak tomatoes to use up) and is pretty tasty. I left out the water--in my experience, tomatoes are watery enough--and just used olive oil to coat the bottom of the pan. Served over mini penne and had a nice, quick, filling lunch with salad. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2013
We enjoyed this and will make it again this summer when our homegrown tomatoes are ready.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2012
This was a nice, basic red sauce that clings to the noodles so every bite is full of flavor. Lots of potential here - I'll keep this in my recipe box and tweak to my personal tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mrs.embee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Iowa City, Iowa, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2012
The whole family loved this recipe. At the end I added a half an onion, some chopped mushrooms, and tripled the amount of garlic the recipe called for, but I tasted it before that and thought it was delicious then too. So much better than store-bought. I will make this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by chefster
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2012
Oh yes!! Oh very much yes!! When I make this again I hope to have at least 3 times as many roma tomatoes from the garden (I had them ripening after picking for a couple days but still had to add two large beefsteaks.) I used half red wine / half water and thickened with both flour and parmesan cheese. This is among my very favorite pasta sauces!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chefster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Plymouth, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2012
This was incredible. I substituted red wine for the water and added a little oregano, italian seasoning & red pepper flakes. only 1 tsp of butter. 2 cans diced tomatoes and 2 gloves of garlic. Added these meatballs. http://www.myrecipes.com/recipe/lady-the-tramp-spaghetti-meatballs-10000000222986/
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2012
This was a great recipe. Made a very small amount so, I added an additional can of diced toms and more spices. I also sauteed the garlic and some diced onion with the tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burbank, California, USA
Living In: Lompoc, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2012
I found the taste of this sauce underwhelming. I followed the recipe except that I added some onion and swapped out the butter for EVOO. I could not taste the fresh basil or the garlic in the sauce. The recipe definitely needs tweaking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 65) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Homemade Tomato Sauce I

Fresh homemade tomato sauce is easy and deeply flavorful.

Tomato-Cream Sauce for Pasta

See how to make a quick, creamy, rave-worthy tomato sauce.

Cherry Tomato Sauce with Penne

An incredibly quick-and-easy pasta sauce with toasted garlic & cherry tomatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States