Homemade Taco Seasoning Mix Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2012
Great taco seasoning....and yes....I do love that I can control the salt. I used regular chili powder and omitted the cayenne and pepper flakes so my kiddos would eat it. Used this mix in a pound of extra lean ground chicken to top nachos. I only ended up using 1/2c of water as well. Delicious and thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SLJ6

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2012
I used to purchase taco seasoning from a "boutique" spice shop locally, but after stumbling upon this recipe I don't bother. I love this recipe. I amped it up a little with some extra Cayne and Chili powder, but other than that this one is good to go.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by benaellis

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2012
awesome recipe, Kathy! Thanks so much for sharing!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2012
Followed the recipe 100%. This was awesome! Thanks for a great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by heynay75

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lodi, Ohio, USA
Living In: Canton, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2012
Loved this recipe! I've tried some other "homemade taco seasoning" that "tasted" like the store bought, but they were not that great. This one is the closest I've come to it. Great flavor. I used just regular chili powder b/c my kids don't like spicy and used beef broth for my water and let it simmer for a while....this is now my go to for taco seasoning...Thank You!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2012
Great Flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2012
This is an OUTSTANDING recipe!!!!!! Tried this for steak fajitas tonight! Holy delicious! I followed the recipe exactly and it wasn't too spicy for my 3 y.o. twins or 6 y.o. That is a huge plus to me. This recipe is definitely a keeper and I'm making a second batch next to keep in my pantry. Thank you so much for sharing!!!! xoxoxoxoxo
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovinghappyhome

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cranston, Rhode Island, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2012
Great taco seasoning for those concerned about their sodium intake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2012
Way better than that infamous packaged mix!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2012
I quadrupled the amounts and made this for 5 lbs of taco meat for a big get together. It worked out great! Just the right amount of spices to give it a wonderful aroma as well as a great flavor. I used regular chili powder (instead of the hot) and just bumped up the cayenne pepper a little to compensate. Overall I am very pleased with this combination, and will be using it (and variants upon it) in the future :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 90) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Homemade Taco Seasoning Mix

A simple taco seasoning mix that’s lower in salt than packaged mixes.

Restaurant-Style Taco Meat Seasoning

Tastes just like a popular restaurant’s seasoning mix for beef tacos.

Taco Seasoning I

See how to make your own five-star taco-seasoning mix.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States