Homemade Taco Seasoning Mix Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2014
Tried this recipe today. It was easy to throw together and easy to adjust for my family's tast buds. This is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lee Turley

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2014
So yummy! I cut the chilli powder in half to please my little kids. To finish the taco meat, I added about a 1/4 cup of tomato paste and 1/2 cup of water to the browned beef and seasoning. I'll never buy the pouches again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2014
The packaged stuff I used to use had wheat, and I have celiac. This is a great substitute, and I can tweak it. I add half a bouillon cube to the mix. And some red wine and a little,Frontera salsa, 'cause I'm lazy/busy. Can't tell you how many times I've made this mix. I always use Mexican oregano, and if I feel really ambitious, I add a tiny bit of Mexican unsweetened chocolate. Killer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathleen McGrath

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2014
Great mix! Love the fact that you can control the sodium and heat to your liking. Won't buy a package mix again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2014
I love this recipe! I have everything that's needed in my spice rack and it's so simple and easy! I use it all the time now instead of taco packets from the store. My whole family loves the flavors when I mix it with ground beef for tacos. I also used it to make pork burritos! This mix is now a staple in my house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2014
Excellent. Used it in my taco soup, was very surprised how good it was. So thankful not to have to try to finagle this myself anymore because it never turns out that good... And I refuse to use the store-bought! Will definitely use this for tacos, and other dishes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2014
This recipe was great. Super quick and easy. I didn't add the cayenne or peppers and did add some dried cilantro. I will be making this again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2014
Couldn't find the store-bought taco seasoning, so I went looking for something I could throw together myself. I had to omit the oregano since I had none on hand, but the family still loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2014
I quadrupled this recipe and used 2 1/2 tbsp. to make beef fajitas for supper. I sliced red and green peppers and a yellow onion into 1/4 inch slices and then sliced up l lb. of sirloin steak and added the seasoning and a little olive oil. I let it marinade for about an hour and then cooked in a sizzling hot cast iron frying pan. They were delicious. I could add some ground chipotle pepper for a little heat. I might do this next time. With my home made salsa and a dab of sour cream it was a delicious supper. I stored the rest in a glass jar in my spice cabinet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KB COUNTRYGIRL

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Thunder Bay, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2014
I made this last night with ground turkey and both my husband and I liked it very much. I used a chipotle chile powder and it gave it a little extra kick, will definitely do this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 110) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Homemade Taco Seasoning Mix

A simple taco seasoning mix that’s lower in salt than packaged mixes.

Restaurant-Style Taco Meat Seasoning

Tastes just like a popular restaurant’s seasoning mix for beef tacos.

Taco Seasoning I

See how to make your own five-star taco-seasoning mix.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States