Homemade Taco Seasoning Mix Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2012
This made great beef taco filling. I used this for a pound of ground beef and used a little more than 3/4 of a cup of chicken broth and let it simmer until the liquid was gone, which was about 15 minutes on med-low. This wasn't spicy, but certainly not bland either and it didn't need anything to make it better. I did use the cayenne and crushed red pepper and used kosher salt instead of sea salt. Great recipe, thanks Kathy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
203 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2012
Tasty and smells very nice! Easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
167 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2012
We really enjoyed this seasoning mix. I much prefer it over those pre-made packets. A lot cheaper to make and no scary "filler" ingredients. FYI - this recipe seasoned one pound of meat perfectly. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
155 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2012
Giving it 4 stars because i haven't cooked with it yet. Just mixed it up and tasted it. Did one sub - used smokey paprika instead of regular - really gave it good flavor! I changed the servings to 50 so i could get a whole jar full to last me a month or two so used 1/4 tsp of cayenne pepper and 1/2 tsp of red pepper flakes since i wasn't sure how much a pinch was and wanted to keep it mild for my younger children. Can't wait to try it. So glad to find a recipe without cornstarch/flour/sugar!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Camarillo, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2012
Great taco seasoning....and yes....I do love that I can control the salt. I used regular chili powder and omitted the cayenne and pepper flakes so my kiddos would eat it. Used this mix in a pound of extra lean ground chicken to top nachos. I only ended up using 1/2c of water as well. Delicious and thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SLJ6

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2012
Great seasoning mix. As good or better than the package Old El Paso that I normally buy. I added the seasoning after fully browning the meat and draining the grease. I used a cup of water and let it simmer down for about 10-15 min.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Peterborough, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Barrie, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2012
Followed the recipe 100%. This was awesome! Thanks for a great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Renee Mickle Bock

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lodi, Ohio, USA
Living In: Canton, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2012
Loved this recipe! I've tried some other "homemade taco seasoning" that "tasted" like the store bought, but they were not that great. This one is the closest I've come to it. Great flavor. I used just regular chili powder b/c my kids don't like spicy and used beef broth for my water and let it simmer for a while....this is now my go to for taco seasoning...Thank You!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2013
I love this recipe. I have tried many but these amounts seem to come together the best for my taste. The main one that needed pleasing was the hubby and he loved the taste of his tacos with it. I also sprinkled it all over chicken breast after they had been rubbed with olive oil. I then baked them in a 350 degree oven. They were fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Terri's Best Recipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Philadelphia, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Spring Hope, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2012
Thought it was better than the pre-packaged stuff but it didn't wow me. We thought it was good but, after reading the reviews, we were expecting it to dazzle us. Not impressive, but good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 118) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Homemade Taco Seasoning Mix

A simple taco seasoning mix that’s lower in salt than packaged mixes.

Restaurant-Style Taco Meat Seasoning

Tastes just like a popular restaurant’s seasoning mix for beef tacos.

Taco Seasoning I

See how to make your own five-star taco-seasoning mix.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States