Homemade Sweetened Condensed Milk Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2009
This recipe does work but the cooking times and heat need to be revised. I was able to use this recipe after cooking the mixture for 20-30 min and by reducing the liquid to make it a thicker consistency. Then it was perfect. This does work, however it needs modifications to make it perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
86 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Queen B
Home Town: Orlando, Florida, USA
Living In: Winter Springs, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2011
I read what others said about the thickness when using evaporated milk, so I substituted real cream for evaporated milk. It worked perfectly!! I used it in a recipe for home made hot fudge. Wonderful!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by keuliss

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Branson, Missouri, USA
Living In: Columbia, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2010
I found this recipe after I realized that I have no idea what SC Milk is supposed to look like and what consistency it should have and what I had didn't look too good. The can had no date and I don't remember buying it, so out it went. I was cleaning out the pantry and trying to use what I had to make a dessert and fudge was the target. Luckily I had some evaporated milk. So I stirred and stirred and finally it boiled. I let the mix cool a little bit, but was going to use in with melting sugar anyway so I dumped what I need in the fudge pot and poured the rest into a pint jar. The fudge turned out great, which speaks well for this homemade mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SandyCWV

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2011
I substituted evaporated milk( and powdered milk from other recipes on this site) and used what I happened to have in my fridge which was Fresh WHIPPING Cream (35% milk fat)- its tasting Just like the kind youpurchase in a can! Currently its cooling in my fridge- the thickness like the real stuff too! Next its going in my homemade BAILEYS IRISH CREAM! Cheers*
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2013
dangerously good, thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
It worked perfectly!!! I was able to make cheesecake like I wanted to today! I'll be saving lots of money!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2014
Decided to make the Passion Bars recipe I found and made several years ago also on AR. Starting a baking project at 10 pm is pretty typical for me, but when I disovered what I thouht was sweetened condensed milk in my pantry was evaporated milk I was not happy. Fear not! Another enterprising cook had posted a recipe to turn the evaporated milk into just what I needed! So I initially followed the directions as written and while I waited for the milk and sugar to come to a boil, I read the reviews and decided to deviate from what I had in the pan. I added a half cup powdered sugar, a cup of fat-free half and half, 1 tsp vanilla and cooked everything for 30 minutes, stirring constantly at a rolling boil. Placed in the fridge to cool ang voila! The result was a great tasting sweetened condensed milk without a late night run to the grocery store. Also, the bars turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KathleenO

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Littleton, Colorado, USA
Living In: Centennial, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2010
very nice for when u dont have store bought at home :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2012
Did as other reviewers suggested and allowed it to boil for about 30 min. before removing to cool. It worked brilliantly in the strawberry-swirl-cheesecake-bars here on allrecipes. Be careful, if you splash even the smallest amount on your skin you will get a nasty burn. I'll be more careful the next time I make this and there will be a next time! Wonderful recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MissMeredith

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2013
After about 20 minutes on med-low heat (no 4 on my stove) and constantly stirring it came to a light boil. I stuck my candy thermometer in and it came up to 220 degrees at exactly 30 minutes of cooking. I completely cooled mixture at room temperature and it thickened nicely. It looks and tastes just like sweetened condensed milk. *note: I had 2 5oz cans of evaporated milk, so I only used 1 1/4 c sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Homemade Butter

See how easy it is to make fresh butter from scratch.

Evaporated Milk

See why evaporated milk is such a tried-and-true staple of the pantry.

How to Make Homemade Crème Fraiche

See how to make homemade crème fraiche.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States