Homemade Sweetened Condensed Milk Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Patty Cakes
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2009
I am not sure what the consistency of Homemade Sweetened Condensed milk is supposed to be, but this did not look like the one out of the can. It was not thick at All! The flavor was spot on even tho it was the thin like canned milk is. Maybe this is good in a pinch. I wonder if the thickness is a crucial of a recipe? I will have to find out. Thank You for letting me experiment a little!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patty Cakes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Long Beach, California, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2009
Thickness is absolutely imperative to sweetened condensed (the operative word) milk. Genuine condensed milk had half of its liquid content rapidly evaporated in order to concentrate the milk solids significantly. Be aware that this recipe only provides for the sweetness of the canned sweetened, condensed milk, but does nothing to actually condense it. Hence, it will not work in recipes designed for sweetened condensed milk. This is nothing more than milk with sugar dissolved in it, and other than the sugar bears no resemblance to sweetened, condensed milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
85 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baricat

Cooking Level: Professional

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2009
This recipe does work but the cooking times and heat need to be revised. I was able to use this recipe after cooking the mixture for 20-30 min and by reducing the liquid to make it a thicker consistency. Then it was perfect. This does work, however it needs modifications to make it perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
92 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Queen B
Home Town: Orlando, Florida, USA
Living In: Winter Springs, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2010
I found this recipe after I realized that I have no idea what SC Milk is supposed to look like and what consistency it should have and what I had didn't look too good. The can had no date and I don't remember buying it, so out it went. I was cleaning out the pantry and trying to use what I had to make a dessert and fudge was the target. Luckily I had some evaporated milk. So I stirred and stirred and finally it boiled. I let the mix cool a little bit, but was going to use in with melting sugar anyway so I dumped what I need in the fudge pot and poured the rest into a pint jar. The fudge turned out great, which speaks well for this homemade mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SandyCWV

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2010
very nice for when u dont have store bought at home :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2011
I substituted evaporated milk( and powdered milk from other recipes on this site) and used what I happened to have in my fridge which was Fresh WHIPPING Cream (35% milk fat)- its tasting Just like the kind youpurchase in a can! Currently its cooling in my fridge- the thickness like the real stuff too! Next its going in my homemade BAILEYS IRISH CREAM! Cheers*
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2011
I read what others said about the thickness when using evaporated milk, so I substituted real cream for evaporated milk. It worked perfectly!! I used it in a recipe for home made hot fudge. Wonderful!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by keuliss

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Branson, Missouri, USA
Living In: Columbia, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2011
I found that the evaporated milk didn't allow for the right consistency in the end; it was just a little too thin to pass as sweetened condensed milk, as others have noted. I used whipping cream in the place of the evaporated milk (12 ounces, just as the recipe calls for) and the result was a much thicker liquid. This was a great starting point, though. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2012
very helpful for when you are in a bind!!! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2012
I only did 1/2 cup of sugar and it was plenty sweet. I constantly stirred this over medium low heat for 15-20 mins and it thickened fine. I used this mixture to make coconut macaroons.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ktylizbth

Cooking Level: Beginning


Displaying results 1-10 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Homemade Butter

See how easy it is to make fresh butter from scratch.

Evaporated Milk

See why evaporated milk is such a tried-and-true staple of the pantry.

How to Make Homemade Crème Fraiche

See how to make homemade crème fraiche.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States