Homemade Sweetened Condensed Milk Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by House of Aqua
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2014
I needed a small amount of sweet condensed milk and this recipe did the trick for me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by House of Aqua

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dubuque, Iowa, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2014
Just finished making this. Works perfectly as long as you boil it for 30 min. It will still seem thin until it cools! Thanks a bunch, I was in a bind! If it wasn't for the cooking time I would have given it 5 stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2014
Decided to make the Passion Bars recipe I found and made several years ago also on AR. Starting a baking project at 10 pm is pretty typical for me, but when I disovered what I thouht was sweetened condensed milk in my pantry was evaporated milk I was not happy. Fear not! Another enterprising cook had posted a recipe to turn the evaporated milk into just what I needed! So I initially followed the directions as written and while I waited for the milk and sugar to come to a boil, I read the reviews and decided to deviate from what I had in the pan. I added a half cup powdered sugar, a cup of fat-free half and half, 1 tsp vanilla and cooked everything for 30 minutes, stirring constantly at a rolling boil. Placed in the fridge to cool ang voila! The result was a great tasting sweetened condensed milk without a late night run to the grocery store. Also, the bars turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KathleenO

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Littleton, Colorado, USA
Living In: Centennial, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2014
Must cook over medium stirring constantly at least 30mins. & cool to thicken. Worked perfect for 7 layer bars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
It worked perfectly!!! I was able to make cheesecake like I wanted to today! I'll be saving lots of money!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
It is not thick enough and will have a disaster on your hands. Do not spare the expense of good sweetened condensed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sun Prairie, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2013
too thin
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2013
okay, if you want to duplicate the canned stuff for a recipe, you need to use only 1 C of sugar, and it has to cook in a slow rolling boil for 20 minutes, after you pull it off the heat, add a Tbsp. of butter, and it will taste and have the same consistency as the store bought stuff. The recipe written is for sweet milk, not condensed milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TERRIS911

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Troy, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2013
This was a great starting point!! I used Heavy cream and had it at a rolling boil for about 30 minutes(per other reviews). Made an avocado pie also found on AllRecipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2013
dangerously good, thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Homemade Butter

See how easy it is to make fresh butter from scratch.

Evaporated Milk

See why evaporated milk is such a tried-and-true staple of the pantry.

How to Make Homemade Crème Fraiche

See how to make homemade crème fraiche.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States