Homemade Sweet Italian Sausage (Mild or Hot) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2014
This was the best Italian sausage ever. The only thing we didn't have was the fennel. I put it in some baked zit-ti and it made the dish! Thanks for the delicious receipt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2014
The description says not to use ground beef but that is what I had...and only 2 lbs of it. For the spices I used the measurements indicated. The only other thing I did differently was 2 Tbls of vinegar vs. 3 and I didn't add any sugar. This sausage was amazing!! We don't eat pork and I have been unable to find an Italian sausage that wasn't pork or wasn't in a pork casing at the grocery store. I wouldn't even bother after having this. Thanks for the recipe! It's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2014
This is great! I used ground turkey to make it a bit more healthy and it was delicious. I didn't have time to let the seasonings sit for 12 hours before cooking, so I cooked it right away and it was still really yummy. I think I'll use a little less salt next time, and a little less crushed red pepper. I love it spicy, but it was too hot for my son. I'll definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHELSEAK3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Holladay, Utah, USA
Living In: Riverton, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2014
This is a fantastic recipe. I halved the recipe and the only changes I made was I used fresh parsley and white sugar. These are moist and flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barb

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2014
This is a very flavorful recipe. I did not include the brown sugar and ground my own chicken (skinless thighs & tenders). I could not wait the 12 hours and it was still great and tasty. I made spaghetti meat sauce. This recipe is the best bulk Italian sausage recipe I've tried and I tried quite a few and was giving up hope. Thanks so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2014
This is an excellent recipe. I have made a number of adjustments to mine, but this is the basic formula you can tweak to make this to your taste. I use white sugar instead of brown, though brown's probably better for a richer flavor. I don't add crushed red pepper or the black pepper because the ground pork I buy is already seasoned to "medium" (It is a local producer, so he adds only red and black pepper and sage to the meat). I use leftover red wine that's been in the fridge too many days to drink instead of the red wine vinegar. I use freshly grated garlic instead of powder. I omit the thyme, oregano, and basil, instead using McCormick salt-free Italian blend, which contains all of those spices and more. I do everything else the same. This is versatile, delicious, and gives you the ability to control what goes into your Italian sausage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2014
one word EXCELLANT !!! made 2 batches one for sausage crumbles,one batch for sausage patties.I used extra lean ground pork and No Salt substitute.No other changes and it was AMAZING !Thank You !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lerie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Owen Sound, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2014
Just did up 12 pounds of this. I decided to no add the salt for a few reasons...including but not limited to my husbands high BP and I tend to run on the side of dehydration..which can cause all foods to taste salty. I found this recipe to be VERY mild. I did a taste cook and then added more seasoning including anise and it still is not spicy. No matter, this is a good recipe. If you want hot you need to add a lot more red pepper...or your choice of heat...and add anise and fennel. Without 'beefing it up' you have a great mild Italian sausage with this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Withbull

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2014
The black cracked pepper is overwhelming! That is all you can taste despite all of the other herbs and spices that were added. : (
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2014
This is an excellent basic recipe. I've now made it twice. The first time, I followed the directions exactly as written using pre-ground pork from my butcher and the sausage was very good but the texture was a little dry. The second time, I ground my own using 2.5lbs pork shoulder and .5lb added pork back fat. I also used red wine instead of the red wine vinegar and added a couple of ice cubes to chill it and increase the total liquid to about 1/4 cup. I used whole fennel seed, not ground so I doubled the amount to 1 1/2 teaspoons, which I ground in a mortar and pestle with the salt and red pepper flakes. The texture was much better than my first effort due to the added fat and liquid. For a mild Italian sausage, this was everything I'd hoped for. Next time, I plan to try fresh parsley and garlic and perhaps even some chopped green onion tops. I may try adding a little ground anise as well but the recipe is fine as written except that it could use a little more liquid and added fat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 57) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Penne with Italian Sausage

This hearty baked pasta casserole stars Italian sausage in a rich tomato sauce.

Italian “Sausage” Baby Back Ribs

These baby back ribs are rubbed with Italian sausage seasonings.

Original Homemade Italian Beef

Make tender, delicious, slightly spicy Italian beef in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States