Homemade Sweet Italian Sausage (Mild or Hot) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2010
Very easy to make and the spices are just right. I used all pork the first time and made pattys with a burger press (about 14 pattys). Hubby loves this recipe, but since he is a hunter, he is looking forward to a venison version, so stay tuned for the update. His gun is ready and waiting! Thanks Michellegambel, I love the spice combination you developed! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda G.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Conklin, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2011
Absolutely fabulous. Best sweet italian sausage I've ever had! I made only one change and that was using just a pinch of salt, instead of a whole tablespoon. Thank you so much for sharing your recipe. Next time I make this, I might try this with half ground turkey to see if I can't make it a little healthier. EXCELLENT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2011
This is awesome! I'll never buy premade Italian Sausage again. I left out the brown sugar - don't know if I missed it or not but I take out processed sugars of all my recipes. I did however, put raw honey in as a replacement (don't measure how much). I also added a bit of olive oil to it while mixing just to make it a little more moist. It worked!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2011
( GREAT SAUSAGE )This sausage recipe is better tha any meat market in upstate NY. I started with a 7Lb. pork but and cut it into 2"x2" cubes with the fat , Put it into (2) 1 gal. zipper bags. The first bag I made mild . Bag #2 I added 2 Jalipenos diced up small. Put all your ingredients into each bag , zip and mix well to coat all sides of meat. Refrigerate , run through meat grinder with the fine grind blade and a casing attachment. Easy as that...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rich from NY

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rae
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2011
Perfect! After seeing this recipe I found some ground pork on sale at the store and so I had to try this recipe. It came out really well. Tasted just like Italian Sausage! I didn't have any ground fennel so I just used fennel seed. I think I used about a tablespoon but I didn't really measure that part. I used kosher salt, and 1 1/2 t of red pepper flakes. And I completely forgot the brown sugar, didn't seem to affect it at all. And to test it out I used the first pound in one of our family favorite recipe. Passed the test :) Thank you for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sierra Vista, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2011
I love making my own sausage because you're really in control of what goes into the food, and especially with sausage commercial products which are full of sodium and msg making pork, a relatively healthy meat into a heart attack waiting to happen. As for this recipe my husband is in love with it! I only had a pound of pork so I went ahead put all the spices called for in the recipe in a spice grinder to blend them evenly, makes about 7 tablespoons, put a third of that into the pound of pork, cooked it off and used in Lasagna Rollotini. Soooo good, even if I would let my husband go back to commercial sausage he wouldn't in a million years. Thanks so much for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs.West

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Visalia, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2011
what i did with this was use the 3 pounds pork and added 3 pounds of bear doubled the spices and as you see i give it 5 stars next time it will be with deer i would not change anything about this recipes for me it was perfect thanks for posting it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2012
4 stars because too salty. I calculated to 8 servings as I only had 2 lbs of ground pork. I didn't have red wine vinegar so I used a white balsamic. Because that has a sweetness to it I didn't add the little bit of brn sugar. I scaled the crushed red pepper back a bit and used a full tsp of oregano and thyme. I mixed all this and then froze it to use for lasagna another time. Today, after I cooked it up and tasted it; I was bummed that it was so salty (and I like salty food). I'll make it again but add only 1/2 salt called for. Then this will be 5 stars I'm sure. I'm hoping all the other ingredients in my lasagna mellow it out ...guess I'll find out soon as I'm cooking it for dinner tonight. Update: I added sausage to 1/2 of my lasagna and did notice how salty that side tasted. But...the next day, after re-heating...it was fine (strange). Anyway, I'll still go w/half the salt next time. If it could use more after cooking, I can add it; sure can't take it out though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CantHelpMyself

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2011
Great recipe. I sadly didn't have fennel seeds, but even without them this was a great recipe. I used ground beef -- even though it says not to -- and it was still very good. I took the meat after seasoning it, mixed it up and cooked it into a crumble. Then I added stewed tomatoes, a bit of sugar and paste and made a great sausage meat sauce for my fresh made wheat pasta. Great meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mayaclone

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kensington, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2011
Reduced the recipe by 1/3 as I had two pounds of ground pork. I used a full 2 t of fennel seed because I love that taste and the full measure of red pepper flakes because I want it with some heat. I divided the two pounds into 4 1/2 pound packages and put it in the freezer. I will update my review when I use it the first time. It looked and smelled good the way it was!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by It's A New Day

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Purcellville, Virginia, USA
Living In: Winchester, Virginia, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 54) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Penne with Italian Sausage

This hearty baked pasta casserole stars Italian sausage in a rich tomato sauce.

Italian “Sausage” Baby Back Ribs

These baby back ribs are rubbed with Italian sausage seasonings.

Original Homemade Italian Beef

Make tender, delicious, slightly spicy Italian beef in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States