Homemade Sweet Italian Sausage (Mild or Hot) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2010
Very easy to make and the spices are just right. I used all pork the first time and made pattys with a burger press (about 14 pattys). Hubby loves this recipe, but since he is a hunter, he is looking forward to a venison version, so stay tuned for the update. His gun is ready and waiting! Thanks Michellegambel, I love the spice combination you developed! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
66 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda G.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Conklin, New York, USA
Photo by Rae
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2011
Perfect! After seeing this recipe I found some ground pork on sale at the store and so I had to try this recipe. It came out really well. Tasted just like Italian Sausage! I didn't have any ground fennel so I just used fennel seed. I think I used about a tablespoon but I didn't really measure that part. I used kosher salt, and 1 1/2 t of red pepper flakes. And I completely forgot the brown sugar, didn't seem to affect it at all. And to test it out I used the first pound in one of our family favorite recipe. Passed the test :) Thank you for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sierra Vista, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2011
This is awesome! I'll never buy premade Italian Sausage again. I left out the brown sugar - don't know if I missed it or not but I take out processed sugars of all my recipes. I did however, put raw honey in as a replacement (don't measure how much). I also added a bit of olive oil to it while mixing just to make it a little more moist. It worked!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2011
I had to make some substitutions and ultimately needed more spices and wish I'd used less salt but otherwise it was good. I used apple cider vinegar, italian seasoning (for the basil and oregano), whole fennel seeds, no paprika. Still good and I'd make it again if I didn't have italian sausage but wanted to use it in a recipe. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookingInSeattle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2011
Excellent, everyone in my family loved this recipe! will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chefjim

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Brier, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2011
We love to make our own pizza. At the present time we am living in the Netherlands and have not been able to find Itaiian style sausage in the grocery store. This recipe is a wonderful subsitute and has made it possible for us to enjoy one of our favorite dishes. Our plan is to continue using this recipe when we return to the USA.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2011
I love making my own sausage because you're really in control of what goes into the food, and especially with sausage commercial products which are full of sodium and msg making pork, a relatively healthy meat into a heart attack waiting to happen. As for this recipe my husband is in love with it! I only had a pound of pork so I went ahead put all the spices called for in the recipe in a spice grinder to blend them evenly, makes about 7 tablespoons, put a third of that into the pound of pork, cooked it off and used in Lasagna Rollotini. Soooo good, even if I would let my husband go back to commercial sausage he wouldn't in a million years. Thanks so much for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs.West

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Visalia, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2011
Absolutely fabulous. Best sweet italian sausage I've ever had! I made only one change and that was using just a pinch of salt, instead of a whole tablespoon. Thank you so much for sharing your recipe. Next time I make this, I might try this with half ground turkey to see if I can't make it a little healthier. EXCELLENT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2011
Excellent - I used a very lean ground pork and it came out wonderfully! HUbby loves it and it's a staple from now on -- perfect for breakfast patties, sausage subs with marinara, spaghetti sauces or just crumbled on top of some penne with peas. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2011
Great recipe, used a combo of pork and 90/10 beef, cut the amounts in half because I was only using 1.5 lbs. Everything turned out great. Will definitely keep this one handy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DCS5

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 56) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Penne with Italian Sausage

This hearty baked pasta casserole stars Italian sausage in a rich tomato sauce.

Italian “Sausage” Baby Back Ribs

These baby back ribs are rubbed with Italian sausage seasonings.

Original Homemade Italian Beef

Make tender, delicious, slightly spicy Italian beef in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States