Homemade Sweet Italian Sausage (Mild or Hot) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2012
This was really good! I did it a little different from the recipe. I forgot the pepper, used Italian seasoning for the basil, oregano and thyme because that's all I had in the pantry. I also didn't use ground fennel, but fennel seed. I used one tablespoon of brown sugar. Really good! We raise pigs, and when they're sent to freezer camp, I'm going to get the meat back so I can make our own sausage, and not pay someone else for preservative filled sausage. Absolutely going to make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2012
This was a good base recipe. It was not sweet so next time I will add mush more sugar. I made 7 pounds and got 22 good links and about an extra loose lb. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHMONEY1

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2011
Great recipe. I sadly didn't have fennel seeds, but even without them this was a great recipe. I used ground beef -- even though it says not to -- and it was still very good. I took the meat after seasoning it, mixed it up and cooked it into a crumble. Then I added stewed tomatoes, a bit of sugar and paste and made a great sausage meat sauce for my fresh made wheat pasta. Great meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mayaclone

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kensington, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2011
This sausage was terrific. We have moved to Ecuador, so we cannot find Italian Sausage. This is better than what I remember back home in Canada. We just shape it into patties, and freeze.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2011
what i did with this was use the 3 pounds pork and added 3 pounds of bear doubled the spices and as you see i give it 5 stars next time it will be with deer i would not change anything about this recipes for me it was perfect thanks for posting it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2011
Reduced the recipe by 1/3 as I had two pounds of ground pork. I used a full 2 t of fennel seed because I love that taste and the full measure of red pepper flakes because I want it with some heat. I divided the two pounds into 4 1/2 pound packages and put it in the freezer. I will update my review when I use it the first time. It looked and smelled good the way it was!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by It's A New Day

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Purcellville, Virginia, USA
Living In: Winchester, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2011
( GREAT SAUSAGE )This sausage recipe is better tha any meat market in upstate NY. I started with a 7Lb. pork but and cut it into 2"x2" cubes with the fat , Put it into (2) 1 gal. zipper bags. The first bag I made mild . Bag #2 I added 2 Jalipenos diced up small. Put all your ingredients into each bag , zip and mix well to coat all sides of meat. Refrigerate , run through meat grinder with the fine grind blade and a casing attachment. Easy as that...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rich from NY

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2011
Great recipe, used a combo of pork and 90/10 beef, cut the amounts in half because I was only using 1.5 lbs. Everything turned out great. Will definitely keep this one handy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DCS5

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2011
Excellent - I used a very lean ground pork and it came out wonderfully! HUbby loves it and it's a staple from now on -- perfect for breakfast patties, sausage subs with marinara, spaghetti sauces or just crumbled on top of some penne with peas. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2011
Absolutely fabulous. Best sweet italian sausage I've ever had! I made only one change and that was using just a pinch of salt, instead of a whole tablespoon. Thank you so much for sharing your recipe. Next time I make this, I might try this with half ground turkey to see if I can't make it a little healthier. EXCELLENT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 57) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Penne with Italian Sausage

This hearty baked pasta casserole stars Italian sausage in a rich tomato sauce.

Italian “Sausage” Baby Back Ribs

These baby back ribs are rubbed with Italian sausage seasonings.

Original Homemade Italian Beef

Make tender, delicious, slightly spicy Italian beef in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States