Homemade Sweet Italian Sausage (Mild or Hot) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2014
This is an excellent recipe. I have made a number of adjustments to mine, but this is the basic formula you can tweak to make this to your taste. I use white sugar instead of brown, though brown's probably better for a richer flavor. I don't add crushed red pepper or the black pepper because the ground pork I buy is already seasoned to "medium" (It is a local producer, so he adds only red and black pepper and sage to the meat). I use leftover red wine that's been in the fridge too many days to drink instead of the red wine vinegar. I use freshly grated garlic instead of powder. I omit the thyme, oregano, and basil, instead using McCormick salt-free Italian blend, which contains all of those spices and more. I do everything else the same. This is versatile, delicious, and gives you the ability to control what goes into your Italian sausage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2014
one word EXCELLANT !!! made 2 batches one for sausage crumbles,one batch for sausage patties.I used extra lean ground pork and No Salt substitute.No other changes and it was AMAZING !Thank You !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lerie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Owen Sound, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2014
Just did up 12 pounds of this. I decided to no add the salt for a few reasons...including but not limited to my husbands high BP and I tend to run on the side of dehydration..which can cause all foods to taste salty. I found this recipe to be VERY mild. I did a taste cook and then added more seasoning including anise and it still is not spicy. No matter, this is a good recipe. If you want hot you need to add a lot more red pepper...or your choice of heat...and add anise and fennel. Without 'beefing it up' you have a great mild Italian sausage with this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Withbull

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2014
The black cracked pepper is overwhelming! That is all you can taste despite all of the other herbs and spices that were added. : (
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2014
This is an excellent basic recipe. I've now made it twice. The first time, I followed the directions exactly as written using pre-ground pork from my butcher and the sausage was very good but the texture was a little dry. The second time, I ground my own using 2.5lbs pork shoulder and .5lb added pork back fat. I also used red wine instead of the red wine vinegar and added a couple of ice cubes to chill it and increase the total liquid to about 1/4 cup. I used whole fennel seed, not ground so I doubled the amount to 1 1/2 teaspoons, which I ground in a mortar and pestle with the salt and red pepper flakes. The texture was much better than my first effort due to the added fat and liquid. For a mild Italian sausage, this was everything I'd hoped for. Next time, I plan to try fresh parsley and garlic and perhaps even some chopped green onion tops. I may try adding a little ground anise as well but the recipe is fine as written except that it could use a little more liquid and added fat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2014
Tweaked it just a bit for our tastes and as others suggested. I used 5 lbs of fresh pork sausage. I decreased the salt to 1/2 tsp and nearly doubled all the other seasonings except fennel because I didn't have any. Also added two cloves minced garlic and increased the brown sugar to 3 Tbl (we like it sweet). The salt was almost too much but I can't guarantee the butcher didn't add salt... All in all very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Millboro, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2014
My dad has kidney disease so it was great to find a recipe for sausage with just the basics - tastes just like the store but you can adjust the salt (and leave out the fennel if you want!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
This is a fabulous recipe; I substituted ground turkey for the pork, because I don't eat pork. Making my own turkey Italian sausage is so much cheaper than buying it from the market, and it also taste better. I like using it in my spaghetti sauce, my adult children just love it. I will be using it in sausage patties for Christmas morning breakfast. If you do not like the sugar in the sausage, just leave it out. I also sometimes use fresh garlic, basil and parsley. I use 4-5 garlic cloves, 2 tablespoon basil and 1/4 cup of parsley.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2013
Best recipe I've made so far for Italian sausage! Everyone loved it. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2013
I used 4x the oregano & switched the brown sugar for cinnamon since my hubby is pre-diabetic. Very good overall. I threw in the extra oregano to compensate for using jarred tomato sauce (gasp!), used it in a deep dish pizza w. red,green,& yellow peppers & onions... comfort food bliss!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Khristi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 62) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Baked Penne with Italian Sausage

This hearty baked pasta casserole stars Italian sausage in a rich tomato sauce.

Italian “Sausage” Baby Back Ribs

These baby back ribs are rubbed with Italian sausage seasonings.

Original Homemade Italian Beef

Make tender, delicious, slightly spicy Italian beef in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States